Why PDA is Good For You’re Children To See

family1

I read a cool quote today that said, “Be great parents, gross out your kids.” The pic showed a mother and a father kissing. I agree with the quote and the picture made me smile. My parents have always been affectionate and loving towards on another infront of my brother and I. I grew up in a loving, peaceful, affectionate family and for that I am truly grateful to God and my parents.

My husband and I have been blessed to provide the same type of environment for our daughter (soon to be two daughters). Our daughter Elyssa just turned two years old on April 1. On her birthday we were taking pics with her and she pushed our faces together so that my husband and I could kiss. I thought the moment was very special because she was grinning from ear to ear. At the tender age of two, our daughter knows that her mommy and daddy holding hands or kissing is very special and to be celebrated. Sometimes we’re all sitting together on the couch and she’ll push our hands together so that we can hold hands either as a family or just he and I together. She walks around the house saying “kissin” and smiling. She likes it when we laugh and play together or turn on music and dance.

We have the peace of God in our home and for that I am grateful. We pray, play gospel music and keep a calm atmosphere so that our daughter feels safe, secure and loved. It’s important for children to see their parents happy, communicating appropriately and showing each other love and affection. Of course my husband and I have disagreements but we talk them out or table them until we’re both able to talk through them effectively. It’s important to us to be role models for our daughter becuase we know she’s watching us. When she and her sister Elaina (arriving in 8 weeks or less) get older, they will be grossed out by mommy and daddy’s public displays of affection and thats ok. I will show Elyssa the pic that we took on her 2nd birthday and reminder of how she thought her parent’s kissing was the cutest thing.

Leave a Reply

