I Am NOT NeNe Leaks and Neither Are My Friends. Why Reality TV is Doing Us All More Harm Then Good

Reality TV madness is now apart of our everyday lives. It feels like on every other channel there’s a reality show where people are fighting, sexing or getting drunk. Today’s youth have horrible role models like Snooki and NeNe Leaks and that breaks my heart. While I do not know these women personally, the behavior that they portait on TV is nasty, rude and wreckless. As god fearing, hard-working, drama free people in society, we must make sure we’re stepping up to the plate and positively impacting those around us. Everyone isn’t getting drunk, sleeping with anything that walks and yelling curse words from the moment they wake up till they go to sleep; it’s just an act for TV!

As parents and loved ones to children and teens, we must work hard to teach them why they can’t listen to the inappropriate messages of those like Katie Perry and Lady Gaga. We must introduce them to positive, holy yet still entertaining TV shows, movies, books and music. I’m not suggesting that our children live in a bubble but they shouldn’t be thrown into the crazy world to soak up all the junk and figure things out for themselves either. We must have standards, morals/values and be our children’s heroes and roles models, NOT degrading rappers like Lil Wayne! The world can not have our children!

Every other Tuesday I host a Christian married mommies book club. I love this group of women. We are all educated, hard-working, dedicated women whom are always looking for ways to glorify God in our lives, marriages and parenting. We explore ways to help build our husbands up not tare them down. We talk about how to keep it HOT with a capital H in the bedroom on a regular!! We read books about how to be better Christians and mothers. We laugh, cry and pray together. There isn’t any drama or competition. We love God, our families, each other and ourselves. I can count on these women to pray with and for me, to call or text me when I’m going through and to give me a word from God on the spot when I’m too upset to think straight. True friendship is worth more than all the riches in the world. (Let me state that this is not my only group of friends, I have many other amazing ladies in my life. This is just the group I’m discussing in this post)

Sadly, our story of positivity probably would never get any form of media attention because nothing super juicy is happening. If we were being caddy and rude to one another and arguing over who has more money and whose husband is the finest, then we could call it The Real Housewives of Detroit and everyone would tune in. But because we’re 9 women who look different, think different, have different household situations but are confident, loving and excepting of one another, many wouldn’t think that it would make a good show.

If you desire to start a business, get married, start a family, start a ministry etc you need to hook up with people who are successful in that area and make them your mentor. If you want to fail at life then follow the fake reality TV celebs and others in the entertainment biz who are completely lost and clueless themselves. I used to watch the Real Housewives of ATL a few years back and one day my husband said something profound to me. He asked me why I wasted my time watching a show filled with drama that was teaching me what type of wife or woman NOT to be. I decided that since I needed to keep working on my attitude, I shouldn’t watch TV shows that continue to show women arguing, cursing and neck rolling. I want to glorify God in my home as and watching junk on TV won’t help me to do that.

What are you watching? Who are you hanging around? Are you a positive or negative role model to those around you? Do your children see God in you? Do you respect your husband as God commands you too? Each of us needs to examine ourselves daily and ask God to show us how to be better. Thank you Jesus for your mercy, grace and love and the opportunity to get it right after we’ve messed up.

2 Responses to “I Am NOT NeNe Leaks and Neither Are My Friends. Why Reality TV is Doing Us All More Harm Then Good”

  1. Valencia Says:

    What a great post! I agree that real friendships are hard to find. I have NEVER (with Jesus and without) had friendships like these ladies display on these “reality” TV shows. A mess! I appreciate our group also. Iron sharpenth iron.

  2. Janna Says:

    To prevent of all of this, you are absolutely right, simply turn off the television!!


Leave a Reply

