My Lips My Hips My Fingertips

Ladies today I wanted to remind you that your beautiful just the way you are. God knew what He was doing when He created you! Whether your tall or short, slim or shapely, whether your skin is light or dark and your hair is long or short, you are gorgeous in God’s eyes. Today let’s work to reject what the media and world around us tells us about beauty and let’s love the skin we’re in. Pastor Michelle  Butler, one of the awesome pastors at my church, Word of Faith Southfield, once preached a power message entitled “Happy In Your Own Skin.” I will never forget that message. It’s so important for us as women not to compare ourselves to one another, as hard as that maybe sometimes. For examples, some days at work I feel less than glamorous! I wake up trying to get my shower, prayer time, breakfast, nurse my daughter, grab all my stuff and run out to work. I’m usually fixing myself up in the car and walking in the office right into meetings. I need to wake up earlier and give myself more me time, even if only 10 more mins. What I won’t allow myself to do is envy my very few co-workers who actually show up to work with make up on and all done it. Instead of allow myself to see less than because I don’t wear my prom dress to work everyday, I can change my wake up time and do more to myself if that’s my desire.

What I’m trying to say is, if you don’t like something about yourself, change it, it’s as simple as that. If you have a few pounds to lose, or even a lot of pounds to lose, join a cheap gym, get some excercise DVDs or just walk daily. If your skin often has break outs, go see a dermatologist and try different products to help your skin clear up. Whatever makes you feel self-conscious or insecure, pray about how to fix it and then do it. You don’t have to walk with your head down. The most attract people are those with confidence no matter how they look. We all need to learn to embrace our bodies and work with what the good Lord gave us! We must also remember that it’s possible to be pretty on the outside and ugly on the inside. Women who are selfish, immature and drama filled, it doesn’t matter how pretty they are, they won’t be able to keep friendships or romantic relationships because of their actions. We must work to please God in all that we do by being holy, honest, giving and thoughtful towards others. Walking in the fruits of the spirit and being like Christ is what a real man will find attractive in a woman!

Psalm 139:14 I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvellous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well.

Read about the Prov 31 woman when you get a moment. She’s an awesome woman who has businesses, a family and a lifestyle that pleased God. We all are to strive to be like Christ and the attributes and characteristics of the Prov 31 woman. No longer will we model our lives after celebrities and others who may have influence but don’t know God. As Canton Jones’ song says “the prettiest thing I’ve ever seen, is a Holy Ghost Girl!!” Look up Canton Jones and his song Holy Ghost Girl amongst many of his other great hits on youtube.com.

Leave a Reply

