Nursing, Burping & Pumping OH MY! Diary of a Breastfeeding Mommy 6 Month Update

In this post I’ve included professional pics of me nursing Elyssa. Breastfeeding is one of the most important, precious things I’ve ever been blessed to be able to do. Shout out to all my nursing mothers, thank you for doing whats best for your babies despite any challenges you may have faced. It’s so worth it!

My daughter Elyssa is turning 6 months old on October 1 and I’m so excited. She’s healthy, strong, active, happy, peaceful and smart. I’ve been blessed to be able to successfully and joyfully breastfeed for six months and counting. I always wanted to breastfeed but I never knew how fulfilling it would be for me or my baby. It’s an amazing feeling to be able to produce exactly what my baby needs, whenever she needs it. I don’t have to go to the store to pick up milk, I don’t have to prepare bottles or budget my money to purchase what she needs, I just snuggle up comfy cozy with my little lady and allow her to nurse until she’s satisfied. I truly give God the glory because I know I couldn’t do anything without Him and all of my successes in life are because of Him.

When I was pregnant, I continued to confess that my breast would produce milk for as long as I needed them too and they would be able to meet our little girls needs and work properly without any issues. God gets all the glory for hearing and answering my prayer as everyday goes by. I’m so grateful that I haven’t had any major issues with my nipples hurting or cracking and I’ve always had more than enough milk to keep up with her appetite. I’m not bragging on myself, I’m bragging on God. He hears my prayers and He’s always faithful!

One amazing perk of breastfeeding is the weight loss. I lost my baby weight within one month of birth and have went down 3o more pounds since then. I can wear clothes now that I haven’t been able to wear in years. It’s amazing and I’m loving it.

Due to me being a working mommy, I nurse Elyssa twice in the early morning and a few times in the evening (between when I get home from work and when she goes to bed.) One of the highlights of Elyssa and I’s day is our first nursing session when I get home from work. She stares into my eyes and I rub her hair, hold her hand and tell her how much I missed and love her. Because Elyssa enjoys nursing so much, she often struggles with her bottles. She doesn’t drink her encouraged amount of milk during day, she drinks enough to keep her going until I get home. She is peaceful and content during the day as if to say, no thank you, I don’t want too much of the bottle, just give me a little; I know my mommy’s returning soon with the good stuff. She continues to gain weight, she’s a big girl actually, therefore the doctor isn’t concerned.

Due to Elyssa not drinking as many ounces as she should during the day, I have accumulated a very large supply of milk. Our freezer is being taken over by breast milk so I plan to transfer two large bags of milk to the deep freezer so the milk will last longer. Do you want to guess how many ounces I have frozen???? 649 oz, that’s just over 5 gallons!! God blessed me with an overflow of milk supply and I pray that Elyssa gets to drink every drop without any going to waste. I don’t want to waste my  “liquid gold,” people would pay good money for this stuff 🙂 We continue to try different bottles and positions to help Elyssa feel comfortable taking the bottle and we’re confident that she will adjust to the bottle transition soon. She started cereal this month and graduates to baby food in October.

Call To Action

If you’re a nursing mommy, I encourage you to educate those around you about breastfeeding. Share your POSITIVE experiences with others. Be honest about your challenges but also share how you overcame them. Explain the benefits and joys of breastfeeding. Don’t push your views on others or make formula feeding mommies feel bad, just confidently explain why breast is best for your baby and be open to questions. People need to know that breastfeeding is normal, natural and beneficial to mommy and baby! HAPPY NURSING!!

5 Responses to “Nursing, Burping & Pumping OH MY! Diary of a Breastfeeding Mommy 6 Month Update”

  1. Margot Carr Says:

    This is great and encouraging. I didn’t have much luck with Ally, because we had to supplement her with formula at the hospital due to her being jaundice. So I hope to have a more positive experience this time around! 🙂

  2. kingdompregnancy Says:

    Your words in this blog post are as beautiful as the pictures of you nursing Elyssa-God’s miraculous gift to you and Eddie! Breastfeeding is a tremendously beautiful and intimate experience! This statement is true for both of us. For me, being able to meet our baby’s needs with comfort is intimate and PRICELESS. For Pastor Rich, seeing a life that he helped to create receive God’s best nourishment is beautiful. After nursing all 4 of our children-we gladly say that we would not have it any other way. We are thoroughly enjoying this pregnancy of our little #5, and we are excited about another opportunity to share in the wonders of breastfeeding. Joanna-Keep being an encouraging example!

    Blessings to you and your family!

  3. daranichole Says:

    Great blogpost! I think breastfeeding is a great experience and I agree with you, I absolutely love it! Its such a bonding moment with you and your child! I plan to nurse longer than I originally said because it is a money saver, time saver, and it does help drop the weight!

  4. Monica Pinkston Says:

    Happy 6 Month Birthday Elyssa Janee!


Leave a Reply

