Diary Of A Emotionally Stable Black Woman

Ladies do you ever take the time to pray for the men in your past who’ve hurt, abused, abandoned or rejected you? Today I encourage you to say a quick prayer for those men. Ask God for forgive, restore and bless them. Ask God to send godly men their way to show them what it means to be a real man. Ask God to continue to heal you and help you to forgive them also. Trust me, doing this will help u get free from your past. Thank u Jesus for complete restoration and wholeness!!
 
I felt led to share this message of forgiveness. I believe Holy Spirit put it on my heart so that others can get set free. I began my road to forgiveness and freedom of my past hurts in 2002. It was a long road full of good days and bad days BUT GOD!! In the beginning it was hard for me to pray for those that had deeply hurt me but as I learned to completely surrendered to God, His word and asked Him to help me, it got easier. Some days all I could say was “Lord bless them.” Some days I meant it, others days I didn’t. Some days I prayed that prayer with tears coming down my eyes because I was still angry, but I believe God honored my prayer and obedience to His word. I didn’t want to be another angry black woman bitter about her past. I wanted to be free of the anger, hurt, pain and shame. Now I can honestly say I can pass those individuals on the street and not trip because I’ve given it to God. He will deal with them in His own way. Its my job to keep my heart right and forgive so that my sins can be forgiven!
 
Ladies we need to be healed of our past and become emotionally stable for ourselves, our husbands, children, family members and to function in everyday life. It’s not okay to be an emotional rollercoaster, happy one minute, than angry, crying and going off on people the next. We need to give our hurt to God, learn to trust Him completely and allow Him to heal us. God cares about your pain and He’s ready to wrap you in His arms and make you new again. When the past is no longer controlling your thoughts and every emotion, you will feel 100 pounds lighter. Your relationships will improve and your self-esteem will get better. Don’t allow other people’s sin to become your sin. They sinned against God by hurting you now don’t you sin against God by continuing to walk in hate, anger or unforgivness. Forgiveness is to set us free, it’s not to excuse the person of what they did to you.
 
**Please read the scriptures below, I pray they encourage you as they have encouraged me. Also feel free to post a testimony about your forgiveness victory or road to forgiveness if you’d like.**
 
Matthew 6:14-15 NIV 
For if you forgive other people when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. 15 But if you do not forgive others their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins.
 
Romans 12:19 NIV
Do not take revenge, my dear friends, but leave room for God’s wrath, for it is written: “It is mine to avenge; I will repay,”[a] says the Lord.
 
Psalms 147:3 NIV
He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds.
6 Responses to “Diary Of A Emotionally Stable Black Woman”

  1. Monica Pinkston Says:

    Encouraging, truthful and perfectly stated! Love it and I love you!
    -MoMo

  2. marriagecoach1r Says:

    Let me encourage you not to use the NIV. It is riddled with errors and is not a translation but a paraphrase. If you want to use a modern English translation, The New American Standard or the New King James Translation is an actual translation.

    Blessings on you and yours
    John Wilder

  3. Blair Says:

    This is so true Joy! Forgiveness is so powerful. I was especially hurt by a particular man in my past, but the main reason I am able to continue living victoriously and walking in love is from the freedom that God has given me through forgiveness.
    I also want to point out that this doesnt just apply to the men that have hurt us. Ladies, we must also forgive one another. Sometimes, women are quick to become angry with one another and struggle forgiving each other. I struggled with a past girlfriend of mine that i felt hurt, offended me and disvalued the friendship we had by not forgiving me. However, through this blog, Joanna has reminded me that forgiveness is not just trying to “get over it” or “let it go”, but involves some action on my part, i.e., praying for God to bless her. I still treat her with respect and want great things for her. Thank you Lord for the revelation, this is a new level of forgiveness for me. I feel victorious already! 🙂

  4. Versandra Kennebrew Says:

    Great post Joanna. I know many women who have used and abused men because they were in survival mode trying to have a place to live, trying to feed their children and trying to live without being alone. In an effort to fulfill their own needs, they used a caring man who would do anything for them. These women had no interest in being exclusive to their “sugar daddy” or marrying them, but without thinking of the men they were using they lied to get more and more. Forgiveness comes from God and the people we hurt, but we also must forgive ourselves in order to truly turn from our evil ways. Thanks for bringing this to our attention so that when the law of reciprocity shows up, we don’t cry unto God asking why, we will know in advance.

  5. Lisa Says:

    This is very true Joanna. Thank you for enlightening us on this issue that some of us really struggle with. Blair also brought up a really good point regarding our friendships with other women. Love it!

  6. Tyra Sherese Peterson Says:

    Thank you Joanna. Yes, I pray for the men of my past, I really do. It is essential for emotional healing.


Leave a Reply

