Learning to Gracefully Handle The Wife & Working Mom Balancing Act Part 1

I’ve been a wife and a working mommy for four and a half months now and boy has my life changed. Since going through my pregnancy, labor, delivery and now parenthood, my husband and I are closer than ever before. We are learning to work together to take care of our home, bills and daughter together. Even with his continual help, it is a big adjustment and a lot of work to be an organized, productive, hands on and peaceful wife, mom and career woman.

Here’s a typical day during the work week for me: I work then come home making sure my husband and daughter have what they need. We typically eat leftovers so my husband or I don’t have to cook several days a week because we are so busy. I make sure Elyssa is content, make sure dinner is prepared or warmed, do a little house work, talk with my husband about the days dealings, nurse and we play with Elyssa, I give her a bath, nurse her again, my husband puts her to bed, if I haven’t eaten I muster up the energy to eat dinner and make sure I have energy and joy for married fellowship if my husband and I feel in the mood.

I absolutely LOVE being a wife and a mom therefore most days it isn’t hard for me to put myself last and make sure that my family is taken care of. Also, my husband is very hands on with our daughter and he is a good cook and helps with housework too. I’m blessed to have a good job with good salary pay and free benefits for the three of us, therefore I would never complain about being a working mother, esp since so many people are without work currently.

Eph 6:7-8 (NIV) Serve wholeheartedly, as if you were serving the Lord, not people, because you know that the Lord will reward each one for whatever good they do, whether they are slave or free.

I wanted to share Eph 6:7-8 today because it is a good reminder for us all that EVERYTHING we do, we are to do it for the Lord and NOT for man. As a Christian, everything I do should glorify God; so the way I talk to my husband should bring God glory, the way I care for my daughter when she’s teething and sleepy should bring God glory. We must remember that as we walk according to the word of God, the Lord will reward us in Heaven for our good works and obedient hearts. This is another thing to remember when your spouse, boss, children, parents don’t seem to notice or appreciate your efforts and hard work. We must remember that God sees us and He is giving us ALL the grace we need to keep pushing even when we feel tired.

Here’s 2 free side nuggets:

SELF CARE! While we learn to care for our families, let’s make sure we find some time to care for ourselves. Self care is very important. Whether inside or outside the home, whether it’s 20 minutes or 2 hours, find something to do each week to care for yourself, it will make a world of difference!!

SEX! Even though us married mommies are constantly working (in or outside the home) thinking about meals, bottles, laundry and dishes, we MUST make time to come together with our husbands. Sexual intimacy is so very important in marriage. Please please please don’t put everything under the sun ahead of your husband and your intimate time together. At a marriage bible study, our pastor told us that men need a release every 72 hours therefore my husband and I try to make sure that we at least come together every 3 days to be together. If we allow the cares of the world to weigh us down to where we can not please our spouses and cater to our marriages, our marriages will suffer. Wives communicate to your husbands about what time of day you have the most energy (sex doesn’t have to always be at night) and what you need them to do to help you to be at peace and in the mood. I love to serve and please my husband in and outside the bedroom and he loves to do the same for me. Yes there are days were both or one of us is too tired but we make sure that if we give each other a rain check, we hold true to our word to come together the next day if at all possible.

Everything I’m saying in this post, I’m preaching to myself. I am learning to balance work, marriage and mommyhood and not be consumed so much with one or two of them that the third category suffers. I thank God for the Holy Spirit who leads and guides me and gives me peace AND checks me when I’m wrong and need to tighten up. I am equipped to be the wife, mother and woman who God has called and created me to be in Jesus name amen!!

**What are some ways you’ve learned to balance your life and get it all done? What are some challenges that you currently face regarding your balancing act?**

3 Responses to “Learning to Gracefully Handle The Wife & Working Mom Balancing Act Part 1”

  1. Tish Says:

    You know first I want to say this is an awesome article Joy. I love when you mentioned that you may not be shown the appreciation for your hard work, but remember that God see us and rewards us. I really love that you mentioned that because I alone have had to tell myself that on many occasions and that scripture helped me not to be so selfish. Now to your question, being a teacher and having a long break it’s been a little less challenging taking care of business in the day, spending time with the hubby at night, and staying up late to watch my shows or movies with some type of snack. Now the challenge has been since I’ve been pregnant, there are certain days when I have less energy. So if i’m not watchful I will half do everything. So to keep my day’s more balance I get more sleep at night and sometimes I slow up on the late night crackers and cereal lol.

  2. Valencia Says:

    It can be tough to be a mom and wife. I have worked outside the home and now in the home and find the balance a constant goal. I try to clean 30 minutes a day to keep up on housework (no more!) and make large meals so I don’t cook everyday. If it gets too busy, I will pick up a rotisserie chicken from the store. I try to make everything as simple as possible! And pray often! I can’t do it on my own!

  3. Gina Says:

    You are a huge inspiration and I just want to say keep it coming girlfriend!!!! Cheers to you and keep that mommy milk flowing!!!


Leave a Reply

