Don’t Be Deceived, The Grass IS NOT ALWAYS Greener

I have many friends in all stages of life; single, married, children, no children, employed, out searching for employment and stay at home moms. Some of my friends are  in their mid 20’s, some are turning 30 this year, like me and some are in their mid to late 30s. While we are all in different stages of life, we can learn from each other and be a blessing to each other as long as we’re careful not to walk in envy or discontentment.

In talking to many ladies, I’ve come to see that it’s easy for us to start comparing our lives and feeling like the grass is always greener. Let me explain what I mean: a single woman could say, I wish I was as successful in my career as my other single friends or I wish I had a husband like my married friends, a married woman could say, I wish my husband was like your husband, a pregnant woman could say, I wish my pregnancy was easy as your pregnancy and a mother could say, I wish my baby was as peaceful and well behaved as your baby. The truth of the matter is no one’s life is perfect and we ALL have something to be grateful for. We are to thank God for our health, sanity, jobs, housing, friends, families, marriages etc. We can also thank God in advance for what He is going to bless us with in the future (such as a job, car, spouse or children) because God knows what we need and desire. Psalms 37:4 Take delight in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart.

Today I want to encourage and remind my readers as well as myself to continue to trust God and walk in His peace and contentment. God knows where we’re at in life and where we want to be. Today I pray that we all learn to seek His face more so that we can receive the answers and direction that we need. I pray God shows each of us what is HIS perfect will for our lives. I pray that we learn to allow God to lead and us to follow, not trying to tell Him what’s best. May we continue to walk in Psalms 3:5-6 Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He will direct your path. God’s got us, there’s no need to worry!!

Psalms 37: 25 KJV

25I have been young, and now am old; yet have I not seen the righteous forsaken, nor his seed begging bread.

Philippians 4:11-13 NIV

11I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. 12 I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. 13 I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

1 Timothy 6:6-8 NIV

6 But godliness with contentment is great gain. 7 For we brought nothing into the world, and we can take nothing out of it. 8 But if we have food and clothing, we will be content with that.

2 Corinthians 9:8

8 And God is able to bless you abundantly, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work.

James 1:3-5 KJV

3Knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience. 4But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing. 5If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God, that giveth to all men liberally, and upbraideth not; and it shall be given him.

6 Responses to “Don’t Be Deceived, The Grass IS NOT ALWAYS Greener”

  1. Monica Pinkston Says:

    Right on time! Great post as usual!

  2. Red Joe Says:

    Very good message, we also have to be careful not to brag, we are taught to brag in today’s society, and it is causing us to fall as a country, but we are to continue encouraging each other in good, keep up the good work Joanna!

  3. Janelle Blaque Says:

    So happy to see you writing again & what a great topic. I always say that I am happy for others but I do not want what they have for that is THEIR gift from GOD & he has given me my gift which is just right for me. More importantly sharing what you have will never take away from what is already intended for you.

  4. jsoulsuperstarrr Says:

    Amen! Thanks for the reminder to be grateful
    Also, great scripture references

  5. theemrsgordon Says:

    Im late BUT I think this is an amazing post. So often we get so wrapped up and blinded by our problems and issues that we look to the lives of others and become jealous because it APPEARS better. Noone has a perfect life… and it is important that we be content with what God has given us. Thank you for this post ♥

  6. Janay Carpenter Says:

    Great post!!! We have to walk out our own destiny with God because he gives us each our own path to follow after.


Leave a Reply

