I Think The Proverbs 31 Woman Liked It On Top

Our precious baby girl, Elyssa Janee, is now 7 weeks old and the doctor cleared me to began being intimate with my husband again. This was exciting news for both of us! All throughout our marriage but esp during my pregnancy and after giving birth, my husband continues to compliment me on my body, telling me how beautiful and desirable I am. His words give me confidence and help me to desire intimacy with him because I feel loved and accepted by him.

I came across an awesome post by Julie Sibert called “I Think The Proverbs 31 Woman Liked It On Top.” The post is about Christian wives and the importance of them having sexual confidence in the marriage bed. Julie’s post about the Proverbs 31 Woman was posted on http://www.stupendousmarriage.com/proverbs-31-wife-liked-being-on-top Julie is a writer and speaker on sexual intimacy in marriage. You can follow her blog at Intimacy In Marriage. I found the post to be helpful, encouraging, lighthearted and humorous (esp during my new season of sex after baby). Check it out and let me know what you think.

A significant number of Christian wives with whom I speak struggle with this (for a variety of reasons, but let’s stay focused here). They think that sexual confidence with their husband is incongruent with being a modest Christian wife.

Such a conclusion doesn’t show up blatantly in any Bible study or even in the Bible.

Nonetheless, the subtle (albeit false) implication still manages to weave its way into the hearts of wives everywhere – to become sexually expressive and responsive would somehow tarnish their integrity and faith.

The Proverbs 31 Wife

Enter stage right my friend and mentor: The Proverbs 31 Wife. Okay, I didn’t know her personally, but like a lot of you, I’ve read all about her being a woman of noble character (Prov. 31:10-31). Several Christian women loathe her, because they see her as a completely improbable standard – a poster child for inaccessible ideals.

Personally, I like the gal. She took charge, kept her kids in line, walked in her giftedness and helped her community. I mean come on, she was buying property and making profits at a time when it probably wasn’t very common for women to be business owners. She had a vineyard for crying out loud. She rocks in my book.

The Proverbs 31 Wife loved her husband, and loved him well. I can only fathom that all that confidence spilled over into their bed. I would be willing to guess she liked being on top occasionally, where she could lead sexually, bring about pleasure for both herself and her husband, and add some variety to their sexual landscape. It would seem to me what would be incongruent for her is to be a strong woman of faith by day and then lack confidence when getting intimate with her Beloved at night.

God clearly said in 1 Cor. 7:3-5 that husbands and wives should not withhold their bodies from each other. There is a tone of mutuality in these verses that cuts to the chase for me. Combine this with the fact that orgasm was God’s idea and that He equipped male and female bodies with the ability to orgasm. Seems clear that sexual pleasure and intimate oneness is meant to be a shared endeavor for husbands and wives.

Is That Type of Sexual Confidence Even Possible?

I’m not naïve. I don’t make light of the fact that some couples traverse through deep struggles sexually. What I do know is that my heart is all about speaking hope and encouragement to married couples on a variety of aspects of sexual intimacy, some light and some heartbreakingly hard. I know that if I asked 100 husbands if they would like their wives to be more sexually confident in bed, about 98 of them would respond unequivocally with a “yes.” Some may even cast absurd looks at me, as if to say, “Do you even have to ask this question?!”

If you struggle with sexual confidence as a Christian wife, plead with God to reveal to you His vision for sexual intimacy. Dig into Prov. 31:10-31, Song of Songs, and 1 Cor. 7. Have a vulnerable discussion with the man with whom you fell in love and married, pledging your heart, soul and body. (You did pledge your body, even if the pastor didn’t speak one word about sex).

When it comes to sexual confidence, I’m not talking about variety for variety’s sake. I’m talking about honest connection, truth and mutual responsibility for sexual expression.

I definitely think the Proverbs 31 Wife liked being on top. And if she were around today, I’d sit with her in her vineyard, talk about marriage and life, and drink good wine. Want to read more about what sexual confidence looks like and how you can learn to be more sexually confident, visit my post
http://intimacyinmarriage.com/2010/06/07/five-truths-about-sexual-confidence/

3 Responses to “I Think The Proverbs 31 Woman Liked It On Top”

  1. marriagecoach1 Says:

    I have to contribute here. The church is responsible for a lot of women’s ambivalence over sex.

    Let me provide an alternative scripture in Proverbs 5 where it says that a woman’s breasts should satisfy her husband at all times and that he should ALWAYS RAVISHED in her love. Ravished is a bilical term for GREAT SEX! You christian ladies need to embrace your inner slut. You will have happy husbands who will be tempt proof to other women.

    Blessings on you and yours
    John Wilder

    • Jen Manciel Says:

      LOL at embracing your “inner slut” a bit abrupt but gets the point across. Nice Job Jo Jo!

      • joannawillis Says:

        Thanks for reading and commenting Mr Wilder and Jen! I believe that MARRIED Christians should have the best sex! We need to learn to love, trust and communicate our needs and desires inside and outside the bedroom! Like the post said God created sex and orgasms for husbands and wives to enjoy together! And wives most of the time we’re more worried about what our bodies look like then our husbands. Learn to let go of all worries and enjoy the husband that you’ve been blessed with!!


Leave a Reply

