I DOUBLE DARE YOU TO BE THE BEST WIFE YOU CAN BE

A few days ago, I woke up thinking about my marriage and my family; what was going well and what areas I wanted God to help us improve. Naturally, I started thinking about what I wanted my husband to do and the Holy Spirit quickly put me in check and reminded me of what He called me to do. He sent me to 1 Peter 3:1-2. Ladies, after you read these verses, you’ll see that God’s calling all of us to consistently step our game up.

1 Peter 3:1-2 (AMP)

 1IN LIKE manner, you married women, be submissive to your own husbands [subordinate yourselves as being secondary to and dependent on them, and adapt yourselves to them], so that even if any do not obey the Word [of God], they may be won over not by discussion but by the [godly] lives of their wives,

    2When they observe the pure and modest way in which you conduct yourselves, together with your [a] reverence [for your husband; you are to feel for him all that reverence includes: to respect, defer to, revere him–to honor, esteem, appreciate, prize, and, in the human sense, to adore him, that is, to admire, praise, be devoted to, deeply love, and enjoy your husband].

When I read verse two, I immediately felt convicted. I do love and respect my husband but 1 Peter 3:2 broke down love and respect on another level!! 1 Peter 3:1-2 is telling us to submit to, respect, adore, prize, appreciate etc our husbands NO MATTER WHAT. No matter how we feel, if we’re too tired or too busy. Also, no matter if they’re doing all of the above back to us, we are to please God by walking according to His word and glorifying Him in our marriages. So for the rest of the week, I kept these scriptures in the forefront of my mind. It felt good to know that I was walking according to God’s word and it felt good to see my husband pleasantly respond to my extra effort to give him what he needs from me on a daily.  On day two I shared with my husband what I was doing and he said he noticed and appreciated my extra effort to be sweet to him. Then he said I was the best thing that ever happened to him. Of course his encouragement gave me extra fuel to keep going down the right path.

Wives and future wives, let’s make a decision today to not allow our negative thoughts, emotions, fears, past hurts or the worlds backwards views on love and marriage to take root in our hearts. If God has called you to be a wife, then He has anointed you with everything you need to be the wife He designed you to be. I know that in order for me to adore, prize, esteem, respect and admire my husband on a daily basis, I need a consistent prayer life. I am not perfect and neither is he, but walking in the flesh only hurts marriages; we all need to pray and continuously walk in the spirit.

Lastly, I want to be my husband’s BIGGEST CHEERLEADER!! I don’t want anyone to tell him how great, smart, handsome, hardworking or talented he is more than me. I want him to feel how much I love and respect him with every word that comes from my mouth. I want him to know that he can count on me to be respectful and patient with him. I want to him trust that he can always be honest with me because I won’t beat him down, I will only love on him the way the word of God tells me to. This is a high standard, but one that I will continuously work on and aim to live by. Our three-year wedding anniversary is this month. My husband is learning how to be the best husband and father he can be and I’m learning how to be the best wife and mother that I can be. 1 Peter 3 has given me a challenge and I’m up for it! Our families are our first ministries so let’s make sure things are taken care of at home before we go and try to save the world.

6 Responses to “I DOUBLE DARE YOU TO BE THE BEST WIFE YOU CAN BE”

  1. Michelle Frazier Says:

    You have a beautiful spirit Joanna! Thank you for being a shining example of Jesus! I love you!

  2. ciara Says:

    Amen for this blog today. I always receive and read the messages that are delivered to my inbox. However, this is my first time responding. I wanted to respond to say this blog confirmed what the Holy Ghost had given me in prayer.

    I just left my good friend baby shower and on the way home I felt spiritually heavy. When I got home I immediately fell on my face and begin to intercede and cry out. I wasn’t sure why I was feeling heavy, besides I had just enjoyed a wonderful baby shower with some awesome women of God. But when God needs you to intercede and he wants to speak you must obey. During prayer I begin to pray Ephesians 6:12 For we wrestle not against flesh and blood…. and 2 Corinthians 10:3 For though we walk in the flesh, we do not war after the flesh. I thank God for his spirit! After praying I immediately felt liberated… Then I checked my email to read Joanna’s blog and said to myself why not accept this challenge…B/C when we walk in the spirit and not fulfill the things of the flesh God will destroy every stronghold he PROMISED to destroy. He also says in 2 Corinthians, that once our obedience is fulfilled he will be ready to punish every act of disobedience!

    I know this is long but I wanted to share how excited I am that we serve an omniscient God and that God needs our obedience to pray and intercede. And in doing so he will confirm…. I believe that my intercession went before heaven to save, deliver, or set someone else free…

    I say all this to say that in Joanna’s blog the one sentence she said as far as walking in the spirit confirmed my prayer. I am ready to experience God’s love more and more in loving not only myself, husband and daughter but those who do not know Christ. This will give them an opportunity to come to Christ. And while loving our husbands, family a little more each day it will become a lifestyle and not just an experience!

    Thanks Jo and keep’em coming…

    • joannawillis Says:

      Ciara, thanks so much for sharing this!! I’m glad that u took the time to follow the Holy Ghost and like you said, someone else will be tremendously blessed because of it!! I’m also glad to hear that you are up for the 1 Peter 3 challenge with me! May God bless our families and marriages and all those around us as well!!

  3. Naimah Says:

    Like Ciara, I always enjoy reading your blog, even if I don’t respond. I must say though, the scripture noted in this read is one that I pondered a lot during pre-mariatal sessions. It really is a blueprint/measuring stick on how to “whew” our hubbies and I’m so glad you brought it back to mind. It can easily be lost in the way of day-to-day living. I love the idea of a “1P3” challenge. I really need to work at this, so count me in!!

    I so appreciate your statement “make a decision today to not allow our negative thoughts, emotions, fears, past hurts or the worlds backwards views on love and marriage to take root in our hearts.” This blog dare challenged me to own the choices I make concerning my wonderful husband… after all, living a “1P3” life really boils down a choice. I am looking forward to the journey.

  4. theemrsgordon Says:

    This is definitely a challenge I face. I love my husband dearly but it is not easy to be submissive. I am used to being in control of things but I am learning more and more about being the woman God intends for me to be. I realy enjoyed this post. I admire you a lot (even though I do not know you) because your posts make me reflect on myself and my walk with God. My husband and I have been married for 2 years and we are both still learning how to be the husband and wife God intends… thanx for this post.


Leave a Reply

