She’s Here! Nursing, Burping & Changing Oh My

Hello World!

I know it’s been a little while since I’ve published a post. Last Friday, April 1, our daughter Elyssa Janee’ was born. She was 7 lbs, 14 oz and 20 inches. The last few weeks of my pregnancy were challenging at times but my faith and relationship with God as well as my husband, family and friends helped me to get through. All in all I enjoyed my pregnancy and was very ready to meet our baby girl!

I’ll never forget the first time I heard Elyssa cry, held her skin to skin or the first time we looked into each others eyes. My husband, our loved ones and I were in love with her the moment we laid eyes on her! Now, eight days after her birth, we’re adjusting well to parenthood and I to motherhood.

Being a dedicated, nurturing and compassionate mother is a serious job! Mothers need to be selfless and give their time, attention and love to their children. I take my role as a mother seriously and though I am far from perfect, I am trying my best to learn how to be better for her everyday. God blessed us with Elyssa; she is our answer to prayer. It is only right that I try my best to be patient and put her needs before mine. Here are some of the joys I’ve experienced this far and some of the challenges.

Joys of motherhood so far:

1. Being able to nurse Ms. Elyssa, knowing that I’m providing her with the best form of nutrition. I love being able to meet her needs and have bonding time with her. Also, nursing is something that only I can provide her with.

2. Her looking into my eyes during the precious moments when she’s wide awake and quiet (newborns sleep majority of the day)

3. The times when my husband and I watch her sleep and sit and amazement that God blessed us to create such a beautiful sweet baby. My husband and I have grown closer throughout this pregnancy and Elyssa’s birth. We make an awesome team. It has been a joy to have him by my side.

4. Being able to kiss and hold Elyssa and tell her how much I love her. 

5. Having so many family and friends come by to meet her and bring us meals and words of love and wisdom. The support means a lot and we don’t take it for granted.

Challenges of motherhood so far:

1. Trying to nurse Ms. Elyssa when she is tired, frustrated and struggling to latch. I try my  best to stay calm and help her get comfortable and ready to receive me. We are both learning each other and this process. She’s very well with it!

2. The crying spells that occur at night sometimes, where we try our best to discover what she needs so that we can provide it for her. My husband has a lot of patience and helps me handle the crying spells without panicking.

3. The lack of sleep or naps on some busy days. God has truly helped me to adjust to fewer hours of sleep and on most days I am able to function just fine. I will take care of myself by learning to sleep when she sleeps but during the day that can be very challenging.

Ladies, if you desire to get pregnant, know that with God all things are possible and He has not forgotten you. Keep praying and believing, if it’s God’s will it will happen. Ladies who are currently pregnant, on the rough days when your emotional and tired, remember that God is on your side and soon you will meet your little blessing. Remember to ask for help when you need it. Ladies who are moms, let’s try to remember that we are not superwomen, as much as we want to be. We must eat right, get sleep when we can and take time out for ourselves and time with our husbands. Let us never get so caught up with our children that we repeatedly reject or neglect our husbands. They are our life partners and desire our love and attention also.

10 Responses to “She’s Here! Nursing, Burping & Changing Oh My”

  1. Red Joe Says:

    Wooo Weee Very Pretty! Congratulations Cousin!

  2. Jovan Says:

    Jo this was very well said :-). Awesome note

  3. Keletha Delk Says:

    Everything you said is so true. I pray to God everyday that he protects me and my family and that He helps Josiah to continue to thrive and be healthy and happy. I also ask that he allows my fiance and I to fraw closer to Him and to each other. I am so glad that things are going so well for you and your family. Keep up the good work 🙂

  4. Julie Says:

    You are such an awesome mom! You are very blessed to have so much love and support!!

  5. Monica Says:

    Joy,
    This is your best post to date! Elyssa is beautiful and I know you and Eddie will be superb parents.
    Love u!
    MoMo

  6. Nicole' Says:

    This was very good!! You hit the nail on the head….

    Motherhood is the most rewarding position one can have. It’s also the most challenging. It’s worth every sleepless night. The nursing will get better.

  7. Janna Says:

    Great post! I know you and Eddie will make great parents. Elyssa is so gorgeous and looks like the both of you. Congratulations and enjoy parenthood.

  8. Serena Says:

    Great article. I remember when Shalom was first born. Our loves changed forever :-)… So many joys learning how to care for your baby… Like u mentioned there are also challenges. The lack of sleep drove me crazy at first but now I’m used to living off only a few hours 🙂 my body has adjusted. Bring a good parent… The one God intended for us to be is hard work but well worth it just like any other important task.
    Congrats girl she’s precious


Leave a Reply

