To My Single Diamonds, Mr. Right Is On The Way

Single Ladies: If “he” hasn’t found you yet, then pray that he asks God for directions! You want God’s best, not just someone driving by.

~Minister Tiffany Butler

I love this quote by Minister Tiffany because it is so true. As godly women, we have no business running around town trying to catch a man. It’s important to trust God and truly believe that He knows best as far as which guy, at what time you two will meet and when he will pursue you romantically. It’s super easy to get a date but who really wants just any ole guy?

My Testimony

I rededicated my life to Christ in 2002 but I continued to have contact with my ex via telephone and emails. I’d been dealing with my ex on and off for the past 5 years. The relationship wasn’t glorifying God, it was an emotional rollercoaster and huge distraction in my life. The more I grew in Christ, the more Holy Spirit was pulling at my heart to completely walk away from ALL form of contact with that joka. I needed to learn to rely fully on Christ for joy, peace and companionship. At the time it was the hardest thing I had to do because so much of my self-worth was wrapped up in my ex. To be apart from him forever was something my mind couldn’t fathom at the time BUT I knew it was what God was calling me to do. After I cut all communication, I cried but I promised God that I would take it one day at a time and focus on my relationship with Him, my family, positive friendships and graduating from college. As each day went on, God healed my heart and restored my joy and confidence in Him. There were days when I felt lonely but on those days I found productive things; spend time in prayer, with family or my girlfriends who were also walking the holiness path.

I was single for a few years before my husband and I started dating. But during that time of me patiently awaiting his arrival, I prayed for him like Min. Tiffany encouraged single ladies to do in the above quote. I prayed that God will keep me as I waited for him and keep him while he was being prepared for me. I confessed that in God’s perfect timing, we would meet, develop a friendship, godly courtship and get married. There were days when I felt anxious or even a little jealous when those around me started dating and I was still waiting BUT I’d have to work to cast those feelings down. I knew what God’s word promised me in Psalm 37:4 which was that He would give me the desires of my heart if I delighted myself in Him. I knew that I didn’t want another guy to come along, mess over me and hit the road. I told myself that I rather be single, saved and happy, then dating, angry and messed over. God kept His word and blessed me with an awesome husband. Neither of us are perfect and neither is our marriage by any means but we continue to trust God and live life according to His word. We know that if we continue to keep God first, we will be unstoppable!

To My Single Saved Set Free Diamonds

Ladies continue to live your worth. Continue to trust God when things are good and when things are challenging.  Know that God has not forgotten you. Diamonds are valuable, unique and durable. God didn’t make any mistakes when He made you and with Him, there’s no obstacle you can’t overcome! Your goal shouldn’t be to be someone’s girlfriend but to be the right man’s wife. Keep pursing or living your dreams, enjoy life and surround yourself with other singles who have the same beliefs and goals as you. Find other believers and do life together.

9 Responses to “To My Single Diamonds, Mr. Right Is On The Way”

  1. Amina Says:

    Sooooo good Joy! I love that quote too and I love how you broke it down using your testimony!

    Just thinking back to that quote, that guy that’s just driving by often comes with a lot of baggage (in the trunk) and possibly some other passengers (bad friends to influence him in the wrong direction).

  2. Monica Says:

    Love this sis!!! So inspiring! Keep walking your talk!
    Love u
    MoMo

  3. TMarie Says:

    Joy,

    This was really great and encouraging. I never knew your whole testimony and I appreciate you sharing it with your readers.

    It is important to be happy, content and busy doing what God had called us to do until God sees fit to bring your mates.

    Great Post!

  4. Jonathan Says:

    Just wondering, was your ex Christian? did you try to get him to be saved?

    • joannawillis Says:

      Thanks everyone for reading and for the support and encouragement.

      Also thanks Amina for adding those wise words.

      Jonathan, my ex and I met @ church, he just didn’t want to live according to the word. I tried to encourage him to seek God with me but he continued to pressure me to do things against Gods word. We were young but I knew that in order to go where God wanted me to go, I had to leave the relationship. Either your friends will bring u closer to Christ or further from Him. I’ve forgiven my ex and myself for the bad choices we both made. I have no ill feelings towards him at all. I wish him God’s best. Hope this helps you understand my story further.

  5. Janelle Says:

    Joanna, I love this one but I think that sometimes people think you are writing to the younger generation. I do not feel this way and think this is true for everyone. The blessing is in the honesty of the message and confirms that patience is a virtue! I am truly happy for you and Eddie!

    • joannawillis Says:

      Thanks Janelle for reading and the encouragement! The word of God is for all of us. I pray my testimonies are a blessing to ladies all over the world of all ages and races. I understand that everyone can’t relate to everything though and that is ok.

  6. Nyse Jenkins Says:

    Thanks for sharing and keeping us single girls encouraged to believe and wait on God.


Leave a Reply

