Pregnant & Lovin It: Week 28 Mom & Baby Update

I’m 28 weeks, 7 months pregnant! I’m feeling good and Ms. Elyssa Janee is doing great! I’ve passed all of my prenatal tests, my ultrasounds have all gone great and the doctor doesn’t have any concerns regarding me or the baby! God is so good and forever faithful!! This ultrasound was taken at week 22. She’s an even bigger girl now!

Christmas time was lots of fun. Many people brought Elyssa gifts. We brought her two outfits. We took family pictures with my parents, brother, sister-in-law and our niece. Eddie and I took two pics to show off my belly and our growing family. It’s amazing to see my body change weekly. We’ve been taking a few progression pictures a month for memories. I’m so blessed that this pregnancy has been smooth and enjoyable. God gets all the glory!

I just started my third trimester and I can already feel the difference! My belly is getting in the way of me bending down; sometimes I need my husbands help with putting on my socks. I find myself getting tired in the afternoon but I am able to shake it off without having to come home and take a nap most days. I’m still taking several bathroom breaks throughout the day but I’m used to that now. I used to get hormone headaches and suffer back aches but those have decreased greatly praise God!

The best things about my pregnancy so far have been:

1. Feeling Elyssa moving and kicking. It’s amazing how God created women to carry babies. I count it an honor and privilege to carry a child because I know not all women are able to do so. I love that I get to carry her around inside me and keep her safe and comfy. I love when my husband and I have bonding time with her like when we call her name and poke my belly and she kicks back. Those are such special memories.

2. Preparing for Elyssa’s arrival with my husband. It’s so much fun to learn about her development together. To pick her name, plan her for the nursery, shower and register at stores together.

3. To be pampered by my husband and loved ones. It’s so nice to have people cater to me and look out for me. It’s such a blessing because I know that many women don’t have the support that they need and deserve during this time. We live in Michigan and we get bad winter weather around this time, therefore my husband holds my hand when we are outside and he always treats me with care to ensure that Elyssa and I are safe and comfortable. I love Eddie Willis III very much and thank God for him!!

28 week update from fitpregnancy.com:

 Your baby has doubled her weight in the past month and is now the size of a bag of flour. She now weighs almost 2 1/2 pounds. Her total length is nearly 15 inches. Your babies lungs are now capable of breathing air! This is big news. It means if the baby is born from now on, she’ll be able to survive with less medical intervention. Your baby’s main job right now is to put the finishing touches on major organ systems such as her brain, lungs and liver. As you can probably tell, she’s also working on gaining layers of fat. Her body fat is about 2 or 3 percent. Your babies eyes, which were covered by her eyelid folds at 6th wk of development, are capable of opening this week. Her sucking and swallowing skills are improving.

Shout out to ALL my 2011 moms to be!! Several of my friends are expecting babies this spring and summer. Elyssa will have many many playmates and a few babies that could be future husband materail 🙂 

**Moms, what were some of your favoriote pregnancy memories?**

4 Responses to “Pregnant & Lovin It: Week 28 Mom & Baby Update”

  1. Rolisia Says:

    Oh what a great topic..I have some many great memories….When Clarence and I found out I was pregnant, when he showed us he was 100% boy on the ultrasound, telling our parents, when my water broke, going shopping for baby stuff, planning our shower…..so many memories. Taking professional pics of me being pregnant, midnight runs for burgers…oh how I miss that, eating whatever I wanted…yes I did. Wondering who Isaac was going to look like, buying cute maternity clothes…and not worry what my stomach looked like,rubbing my belly, Clarence and Isaac playing around while still in my belly, so many memories……I can go on for days….not having to lotion my own legs or put on my own shoes….while getting excited about being pregnant again….LOL

    • joannawillis Says:

      Those are ALL great memories Ro! I had many of those moments too and I will cherish them forever!

      I remember going to the store twice with E to get pregnancy tests and being nervous and excited! I rolled on the floor smiling and laughing when the 1st test said yes! It was fun to share the news with our parents, family and friends too!

  2. Keletha Delk Says:

    I must say that one of my favorite moments was when we did the 3D/4D ultrasound session. At that time, I was still in so much shock that I was pregnant even though I was 23 weeks, because I was at a point in my life where children was the last thing on my mind (even though my fiance’ was absolutely thrilled from day 1). Well, on a 3D scan, everything is live. You see every movement. When the baby turned his head to the monitor and laughed and then when he went back to sleep toward the end and grabbed the cord and smiled, I fell in love and I knew at that moment that this was meant to be and that God had blessed us with the most wonderful gift. And 17 weeks later, I feel that way even more so now, and we can’t wait to see him. 🙂

  3. Tiffany Says:

    OMG time is really flying…. I am so happy for you guys and may god continue to bless your ever growing family


Leave a Reply

