The Middle Ground Between The Chastity Belt and Girls Gone Wild

 

In today’s sexualized society, there has to be a middle ground between feeling like you need to wear a chastity belt to remain pure and falling head first into the sexual revolution. I believe the media has fed women so many lies about sexuality and now many of us are paying the hurtful price behind believing those lies. Checkout the definitions of chastity belt and sexual revolution.

Wikipedia defines a chastity belt as  a locking item of clothing designed to prevent sexual intercourse. They may be used to protect the wearer from rape or temptation. Some devices have been designed with additional features to prevent masturbation. Chastity belts have been created for males and females. According to modern myth the chastity belt was used as an anti-temptation device during the Crusades. When the knight left for the Holy Lands on the Crusades, his Lady would wear a chastity belt to preserve her faithfulness to him.

The sexual revolution (sexual liberation”) encompasses the changes in social thought and codes of behaviour related to sexuality throughout the Western world that took place from the 1960s into the 1970s.Sexual liberalisation was the beginning of an acceptance of sex outside of traditional heterosexual, monogamous relationships (primarily marriage).[3] Contraception and the pill, public nudity, the normalisation of homosexuality and alternative forms of sexuality, and the legalization of abortion all followed.

As a married woman, I strongly believe in women being free in marriage to please their husbands and be pleased as well as often as they want to. Sex is good, sex is important, sex is fun and pleasing in God’s sight. The problem is so many women have brought the world’s lies about what sex and what being sexually free really means. In many women’s fight to kill the double standard between men and women, some have chosen to become just as irresponsible, slutty, cold-hearted and promiscuous as the men who’ve hurt them in the past. Everyone should be responsible and safe when it comes to sex. No one should misuse, abuse, lie, cheat and jump in and out of bed with multiple partners.

As a Christian, I believe that sex outside of marriage is a sin. I know first hand how hurtful, lonely, confusing, disappointing, dangerous and depressing casual sex can be. I thank God for His healing and restoring power. When I turned my life over to Christ, I found the hope, joy, peace, comfort, strength, wisdom, self-confidence and love that I was missing and looking for in all the wrong places. Now I have been extremely blessed with a husband who loves God, loves me and faithful and dedicated to only me. My husband was a virgin when we got married and from the day we met until this very second, he continues to show me what true, holy godly love really is. Ladies there is nothing like it in the whole wide world.

Women don’t fight for your right:

1. To have your body used and then forgotten about by men who don’t really love you or themselves.

2. Get pregnant and left all alone to struggle to raise a child or children.

3. Get STD’s and/or AIDs. African American women have the highest AIDs rate than any other population.

4. Be emotionally and mentally drained, hurt, angry and bitter because of the sexual choices you’ve made with the wrong men.

You don’t have to wear a chastity belt and be afraid of men or the thought of sexual pleasure BUT you don’t have to be apart of the girls gone wild movement either. Have respect for yourself, have standards for the men that you date and understand that you are more than a sex object/baby maker. Read 1 Cor 13 and find out what real love is. When you know who you are and what your worth, you won’t waste another day letting someone treat you like trash.

Here’s an interesting article about the lie behind the sexual liberation movement.

http://www.goodmorals.org/kersten.htm

If you enjoyed this blog post, I encourage you to subscribe to receive emails regarding future post. The subscribe button is located at the top left corner of the blog. Once you enter your email and hit “sign me up,” you will have to open your email and confirm the subscription. Thank you in advance for your support. Also please email the blog link to other ladies https://joannawillis.wordpress.com
10 Responses to “The Middle Ground Between The Chastity Belt and Girls Gone Wild”

  1. Ex-Mess Says:

    To add to what you have already said.

    Women if a man is not your husband then he is not your lover. Flee youthful lusts and temptation and wait for the husband or else end up with your soul tied to a man and not God.

  2. Teresha "TeRenae" Says:

    Joanna, this is right on time! Very clear points and straight forward just what we need! Where do you find your pics?! lol I never knew about the history of chastity belts. Learned a lot in this one. Good study.

  3. joannawillis Says:

    Thank you both for reading and commenting!

  4. Ammi Says:

    I agree that there can be a middle ground from a prudish a person and a person who is just plain slutty.

    I like getting your posts Joy. I just want to encourage you. Keep up the good work.

    Ammi

  5. Bethany Says:

    I Love this!, So well Written, Very Interesting….its Reminding me of a Talk I had with a Spiritual Mentor in my life, she’s a great historic story teller, she spoke of the Chastity Belts,lol 🙂

  6. Dreamer Says:

    I really enjoy reading your blog and I really love this post!

  7. Whitney Says:

    Great blog, Joy!
    When I first read the title of this blog, before reading it, my situation came to mind. Being a virgin before I met my first and only boyfriend, I found it hard to find someone who would wait until marriage with me. Plus, I would tell myself no one would remain faithful if I wasn’t “giving it up”. So when I started dating my current boyfriend when I was 18 years-old, who I thought was the greatest, I started telling myself “it was ok to lose my viriginity to the one guy that I knew I was going to marry”. So when I first read the title of this blog it brought me back to about 7.5 years ago. This was my middle ground between the chastity belt and girls gone wild, being sexual intimate with one guy that I knew I would someday marry. I decided to get baptised, which afterwards I was fill of even more regret because I what I was doing. And even though I had doubts others (including my own mother, who I called right after being baptised) would vindicate my decision with saying “at least you are not sleeping with multiple people and it is ok because you are in a serious, monogamist relationship”. I had to learn the hard way what the middle ground realy was. From birth to 17 years old I listened to my mom and didn’t date, but when she gave me the go I found out that the guys I would talk to would eventually give up when they would find out I was serious about waiting. But when you start really (I mean really) caring about what God thinks and reading on what his word says and stop caring about your own selfish ambitions, everything else doesn’t quite matter. After years of stuggling with my decision and worrying about if my man would stay with me if we would become celibate (which was my own insecurities), we have been celibate for 10 months now. I tell you, there is a difference in having hearing something is wrong (in my case, fornication) versus reading and studying it for yourself (i.e. Galatians 5:17-25 and 1 Corinthians 6:18-20).

    This was maybe a little off topic and a little too long, but I just wanted to give a little testimony for those who might be in the similar situation. Anyway, keep up the good work!

    • joannawillis Says:

      Wow what a awesome testimony Whitney!! Thanks for sharing! I’m sure it will encourage others! May God bless you and your boyfriend for your obedience to Him and His word.

  8. Red Joe Says:

    Love it! We cannot get enough of the truth about sex in this sex over everything destructive message world!


Leave a Reply

