Pregnant & Lovin It: Week 12 Mom & Baby Update

Good morning world! I am 12 weeks and a few days pregnant. With this being my first pregnancy, there is so many new things to learn and adjust too but my husband and I are loving every moment. I have been extremely blessed to have a very smooth 1st trimester. No morning sickness, extreme fatigue or pain. I haven’t had to miss one day of work because of the pregnancy so far. All of my doctor’s appointments have gone perfect also. We were able to hear the baby’s heart beat earlier this month and that was very exciting! 2nd trimester begins at week 14. In 6 weeks we get out 2nd ultrasound to determine the sex. I will be 18 weeks by then.

I am honestly still in a small state of shock that I am pregnant. I have wanted to have an awesome husband, a career, own a home and raise a family since I was a little girl and now all my dreams are coming through. We give ALL glory and honor to God. We know that it is only because of our Lord that we are blessed, healthy, happy and at peace. 10 years ago I NEVER could have seen my life going this way. Life with Christ is the only way to go. He makes all things new and He is so faithful!!

The pregnancy symptoms that I have been experiencing are: frequent trips to the rest room, lower back pain at times, hungry all the time and breast tenderness. I have a little baby bump now too. All the pregnancy websites say that between now and a few weeks, ladies grow a lot in the waist area. I purchased my 1st belly band to help me fit my pants more comfortably; I love it!! I try not to complain about any symptoms that I experience because I am so grateful to God to be able to carry a baby and prepare to raise a child up in the ways of the Lord with my husband. Eddie is so excited. He grocery shops, cooks and helps out around the house. He makes sure that I’m comfortable and eating healthy.  We read baby books and websites together and day-dream and pray about our future family. He took great care of me before pregnancy so now I’m being spoiled even more! I love it! Our parents, siblings, extended family, friends, church members and coworkers are extra excited, supportive and helpful as well. This is such an awesome time in our lives. I am glad that I am not sick and can enjoy each day. Thank you Jesus!

Easy Baby Life Website gives details on the baby’s development this week. Checkout some of the interesting info below.

The biggest thing for your little one this week is the developing reflexes. Fingers will open and close, toes will curl, even facial expressions will change. Your baby can both scratch his nose and suck his thumb!

If you move a specific way your baby will respond by moving as well, even if you can’t quite feel it yet. Muscles start responding to the stimulus development for a more natural movement for your baby.

The brain starts making hormones as well as the rapid development of the nerve cells while the kidneys start producing urine.

Actually, week 12 is the start of a critical development phase for your baby’s brain. Between week 12 and week 18 and later between week 24 and 36, brain development is particularly rapid and sensitive.

The placenta is functioning effectively and blood flows from the umbilical cord.

Muscles within the intestines also begin to practice contractions known as peristalsis in order to digest food later on.

The eyes of your new baby have moved from the sides of the head to the front where they belong, and the ears are where they belong as well.Just over 2 inches long, your little one is about the size of a and weighs close to half an ounce.

5 Responses to “Pregnant & Lovin It: Week 12 Mom & Baby Update”

  1. sylviahubbard1 Says:

    As i celebrated my 3rd child’s 8 yr’s birthdate, I have to say J, I stopped thinking of the intricacies of giving birth and carrying something on my bladder a long time ago.

    Reading your blog brought back the little joy I did find in holding life in my body and knowing God gave me all that I needed to take care of it.

    It’s a great feeling.

    I reckon it to the line in colored girls: I found God in myself.

    I think all women do when they allow their emotions, mind and not just their bodies to get involved into the pregnancy process.

  2. John Wilder Says:

    And feminists angrily demand the right to kill these precious babies. It is no different between now and old testament times where they did not have abortion but they would build a bonfire to the false god Molech and toss unwanted babies into the fire alive. Jews also killed and ate their own children during times of siege where they were locked behind city walls and invading armies would attempt to starve them out.

    Blessings on you and yours
    John Wilder

  3. joannawillis Says:

    Thank you so much for sharing Sylvia!! You are so right!

    John this isnt a pro-life post but I hear where you are coming from as well. I believe that a baby is a baby the moment conception takes place. In the first few weeks the heart starts to beat and development begins. I am doing all that I can to keep our baby happy, healthy and comfortable.

  4. Delonna Says:

    Awesome blog . I am so happy for you guys. I can’t wait to babysit and spoil the baby.


Leave a Reply

