How To NOT Give Your Neighbor A Piece of Your Mind, Fist & Neck

Morning world! Things have been challenging for me lately and I needed to take some time and read some scriptures on loving my neighbor and having mercy. When those around us at our jobs, in our neighborhoods, churches or own homes manage to get under our skin, as Christians we MUST tell our flesh to shut up and start meditating our love scriptures. Just because those around us may be acting up, doesn’t give us the license to “show our butts!!” I had to remind myself today while driving to work “these people know I’m a Christian, even though I’m frustrated at how things have been going in the office, I can’t lose my witness, it’s not worth it! This too shall pass!” I know the Holy Spirit is with me, leading and guiding me but I will only be able to hear his voice if I am in the spirit and not the flesh.

I just want to encourage you today if you are facing challenging situations that tempt you to step out of the spirit and into the flesh. As tempting as it is to let someone have it, it isn’t worth it. God won’t be pleased and it will only make the situation worse. More people will be blessed by you responding correctly than you going off on someone. 

5 Ways To Walk In Love

1. Show compassion because love is patient and longsuffering with others.

2. Celebrate the successes of others because love is not envious.

3. Promote others welfare above your own because love does not insist on having its own way or rights.

4. Refuse to be vindictive or retaliatory because love is forgiving.

5. Do not be easily provoked, but control your impulses because love is slow to anger.

http://www.ehow.com/how_5740072_walk-love.html

Checkout these scriptures about loving your neighbor and the parable about the ungrateful servant. Let us all examine our hearts and make sure we are walking in love, forgiveness and mercy. May God’s peace and wisdom be with us all this week and always!

Leviticus 19:18 Do not seek revenge or bear a grudge against one of your people, but love your neighbor as yourself. I am the LORD.

Luke 10:27 He answered: ” ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’ ; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ ”

Matt 5:7 Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy.

Matt 18:21-35 The parable of the ungrateful servant

21Then Peter came to Jesus and asked, “Lord, how many times shall I forgive my brother when he sins against me? Up to seven times?”

 22Jesus answered, “I tell you, not seven times, but seventy-seven times.

23-35 The servant owed his master 10,000 talents. He begged for mercy and it was granted unto him. Then the servant came across another servant who owed him a hundred denarii. He began to chock the servant and demand that he give him his money. The servant begged for mercy and patience from the man but he refused. Other servants near by saw what happened and they went and told the master. The master called the servant wicked for begging for mercy and receiving it but not granting another that same mercy. In anger the master through the servant in jail to be tortured until he was able to pay back his debt. Matt 18:35 This is how my heavenly Father will treat each of you unless you forgive your brother from your heart.”

One Response to “How To NOT Give Your Neighbor A Piece of Your Mind, Fist & Neck”

  1. Nikki B. Says:

    Excellent blog Joanna!!! I really needed this. Remembering to walk in love and be forgiving and not “trip” just because someone else is will make things go a lot smoother in life and more importantly will please God :-D.


Leave a Reply

