Sistas Positively Affecting Sistas

Many women in the African American community are struggling. Struggling to know their purpose, their value/worth, to understand what real love is,  to be accepted and live productive lives. Many AA women have made celebrities and the women in the videos their role models and this much change. I went to visit a 22-year-old single mom with four kids. She had a few female friends over and all the ladies had their hair done, gold around their necks and designer clothes on. The family lives in poverty. I am not saying that people with low-income can not have nice things, but often times AA women spend more money on hair, nails, jewelry, clothes, shoes and make up than anything else. This must change. Our value should never be in how cute we look or what possessions we have. Our value isn’t in how great our bodies look or how many men are following us around. Our value is who are we in Christ; that we are healthy mind, body and soul, that we’re happy, determined and successful. We are more than just baby makers or women with big butts. We are creative,  smart, worthy of love and healthy relationships. We are strong, survivors, teachers, lawyers, doctors, social workers, stay at home mothers, business owners, ministers of the gospel etc.

To my Christian sistas, the next time you see that same prostitute that passes by your job everyday, the young girl in your neighborhood that dresses too fast, a single mother on your job that you know is struggling to raise her six children all alone, your aunt who struggles with drug addiction, your girl who fell away from church or your sister who just dropped out of school, pray and follow the Holy Spirit as to how to love on that woman. Give her a smile, some encouraging words, a hug, tell her Jesus loves her, you love her, it will be ok, ask if you can pray with her, invite her to church, treat her to lunch and just be a listening ear, whatever Holy Spirit tells you to do.

Christians are the salt of the earth. The bible says the world will know we are Christians by our love. We must love on those around us. We must let our light shine. We must live a sold out for Christ lifestyle so that the women around us can know that they too can have peace, joy, a great life in Christ. I give  God ALL the glory that my life is a positive example to others. I am blessed to be a 29-year-old black woman who loves the Lord, has a husband who loves the Lord, we serve at our church together, we have a happy marriage, we were blessed to plan our pregnancy, we own a home in the suburbs, I have two college degrees and we both have careers that we love. Ask me if ten years ago I would have thought I would be this blessed, no! God is good and when I completely surrender my life to Him, He restored me and continues to mold me into the woman who He has called me to be. I want my life to encourage others. To let them know that if God did it for me, He will do that and more for them.

Ladies today’s message is to walk in love, be led as to how the Holy Ghost wants you to mentor and reach out to those around you and to let your lifestyle be a witness of God’s goodness and faithfulness to others. The world needs us. We can’t afford to be half stepping, fake, worthless Christians. Our families need us, our coworkers, neighbors and those that we come into contact with daily on Facebook and Twitter. People all over need hope and we know the one who has all that they need, JESUS!!!

If you enjoyed this blog post, I encourage you to subscribe to receive emails regarding future post. The subscribe button is located at the top left corner of the blog. Once you enter your email and hit “sign me up,” you will have to open your email and confirm the subscription. Thank you in advance for your support. Also please email the blog link to other ladies https://joannawillis.wordpress.com

5 Responses to “Sistas Positively Affecting Sistas”

  1. John Wilde Says:

    Kudos on another great post and being a positive role model for black women everywhere.

    Blessings on you and yours
    John Wilder

  2. Janna Says:

    The problem is we don’t love ourselves. This is why we have low self-esteem and look up to other people that can really have negativity on our personal lives. I really think people should turn off the television and yes that music too. If you love yourself then everything will fall into place.

  3. joannawillis Says:

    Thanks so much John for the kind words!

    Janna I completely agree with you! Thanks for sharing!

  4. Janelle Says:

    I love this one and am going to use the acronym S P A S often! I always say that what you have is not intended for me and the Lord will see that I have have what is intended for me as long as I do no harm to his children. I can be a blessing to you and not reduce my own blessing!

  5. Ronda Says:

    Very good post, I think it’s not just black women but black people who seem to be caught up on material possesions. It just seems like some of us are passing down ignorant point of views from one generation to the next. Alot of black people have a consumer point of view rather than an entrepranuer point of view. For far too long people have based their self worth on superficial stuff, the more stuff you have the more valuable you are and that is just wrong. I once told these to AA women that I knew that too many of us have fancy expensive cars and no home to call our own. When I told them if people would invest as money into buying a home as they do buying rims and what not more of us would be home owners. They got mad as though I was insulting them and had said something wrong. I mean what sense does it make to spend $3,000 on some rims and $500 on a stereo system and you live with ya Moma, that is crazy. We have to teach our children the value of a dollar, about saving money and how to make their money make money for them from the jump! We have to teach them to be good stewards over all that God gives them and that their self esteem and value comes from what God says about them, not stuff or the media.


Leave a Reply

