Steps Towards Healing From Abortion

Life Application Ministries has an awesome website for women who need to be restored from the aftermath of abortion. Please review this article and click the link to read this beautiful woman’s testimony and words of wisdom and encouragement. No matter what you’ve done, God loves you and is waiting to take you in His arms and make you whole again. http://www.mindsync.com/lam/recovery.htm

 There are 3 principles.

  1. Recognize – acknowledge where you are in your heart right now.
  2. Responsibility – whatever happened in the past, today, begin taking responsibility for your life.
  3. Repent – Confess to God

The first step is to Recognize. Before anyone can be healed within, they have to admit where they are. – Recognize that abortion was wrong. Recognize it was sin. Don’t be afraid to admit this. The bible says that “The truth shall make you free” (John 8:32) We have to admit that we had the abortion and not be afraid to speak the truth. I believe many of you reading this do acknowledge this in your heart but it has sat there and sat there causing you pain and grief. but there is HOPE once and for all for you. Keep on reading this information and I believe you will be brought out of all that pain once and for all!

Second step is Responsibility. We need to get back our lives and begin taking responsibility for all our actions. We need to stop blaming others or our circumstances for our choices. Simply accept the truth that you made the decision and that is that. Those who are alcoholics need to acknowledge they have a problem BEFORE they can get helped. It’s the same with abortions. It could have been the spouse or boyfriend that made us feel like the abortion was the only choice. It could have been a parent or guardian. It could have been a nurse at the school. It could have just been your own fear of how you would take care of a child. It could be ignorance, like I had, to use the abortions as a means of birth control. I had to stop blaming the people who told me abortion was OK, after all, the baby isn’t real yet. I simply stopped all that blaming and took the responsibility upon myself for those decisions. But it doesn’t stop there. I know this one is a hard one to grasp, but keep on reading.

The third step is to Repent. I’ll bet many of you have been so sorry all your life. Acknowledge the sin before God and confess it to Him. Receive His forgiveness and forgive yourself. (I believe this is the place where many can’t get past because we can’t forgive ourselves or even think we should be forgiven for the things we did – this is what I’ll be covering in detail. I believe that you have already done steps 1 and 2 to some degree, now it’s time to get past all that and move into a new phase in your life. I understand that you may have been grieving for that child (or children in many cases) for so many years. You have difficulty parenting the children you do have because of your guilt and shame. It’s time to be healed. It’s time to take back your life. It’s time to move on. It’s time to stop grieving. It’s time to get out of your grave clothes and walk in the land of the living. If you are ready for this, then continue.

First and foremost is the acknowledging your need of a Savior. Because dear one, we cannot save ourselves from anything. So first things first. To confess Jesus as Lord and receive Him as our Savior. To acknowledge that only through Him will you be healed in your heart and mind. If you want to make this decision, click the link above on “How do I know I’m a Christian?” The Bible tells us that Jesus is the healer of a broken heart. So let’s start at the beginning, which is a pretty good place to start. He receives anyone who calls upon Him, no matter WHAT we have done. I’m speaking from experience because if there was anyone who lived a “wild” life, it was me. God is the only one who can heal. Start by asking Jesus in your heart.

The second thing is to allow Him to love you. This is where everyone has a problem. I have known many Christian women who had abortions at an early age, or later in life but are still tormented by those thoughts and other past regrets. But it all boils down to not receiving the Love of God personally. We think, “How can God love me, look what I’ve done?” But the truth is, He does. This acknowledgment is very important for your restoration and healing to occur. God’s love is unconditional. And let me set the record straight, this is NOT the unpardonable sin. The unpardonable sin is to reject Christ as Savior. I know that my past and my relationship with my father (or men for that matter) were not very good. As a matter of fact, this is my fourth marriage and I can’t count on my feet and hands all the men I lived with before, in between and after each marriage. I was seeking Love, but I wasn’t getting the right kind of Love. What a mess my life was! In my case, I had been a Christian for 18 years before I truly received the Love of God unconditionally for myself. That’s when my heart and life began changing. The Bible says that perfect love casts out all fear because fear has torment (I John 4:16-18). If we are sad all the time, in pain about our memories, if we are fearful, if we have doubts and worries about our future, then we are not receiving His love. If you are not receiving the love of God you are probably in self-hatred, self-rejection, and always feeling guilty and condemned about something. You may think that you don’t deserve to be happy because of what you have done. You may even suffer from stress, anxiety, phobias and panic attacks as I did for 30 years. I heard a doctor say something that I believe pertains to us. “If my mental patients knew they were forgiven, they would walk out of this hospital within a week healed.” I believe this is true for us too. We have a hard time forgiving ourselves let alone receiving forgiveness from God. We think we have to carry that pain as “penitence” but to tell you the truth, you are trying pay for something you can never repay!

To know God loves you will help you forgive yourself. See while we were yet sinners Christ died for us because of the Love of God toward us. “We love Him because He first loved us.” (I John 4:19) We cannot even love God correctly without His love in us first. The problem is not with God the problem is with us believing He loves us and has a good plan for our lives NO MATTER what our choices were. The problem is us not receiving that love. When we receive that kind of love, nothing is impossible. We begin to love ourselves properly, WITHOUT condition. See, our love is human love, it is full of conditions. There are flaws and ultimatums in our love with ourselves and with others. Sometimes we think we have to “do” something to be loved. But with God, HE IS LOVE, He cannot do anything else, nor are we to do anything else but receive it. (I John 4:16) He loves you RIGHT now even with all the past mistakes. He saw you do them, He was right there watching. Nothing was hid from Him. Yet He loves you. Yet He wants to heal your heart. Why? Because you are His daughter. The children that were conceived are with Him right now. He beholds their face every day. He wants you to join them someday in Heaven. He wants you to look up toward the heavens not down to the ground. By allowing the truth to penetrate your heart, and recognize the things that you have done point blank, will bring healing! It’s “knowing” the truth, which sets us free. Don’t be afraid to see the junk in your life. Once you see it, then it’s God’s job to clean it out and heal you!

The third thing is to receive forgiveness from God and forgive yourself. Of course you and I both know that this one is very hard. Until you begin receiving the Love of God for yourself, it will be literally impossible to forgive yourself. So how do we do this? By confessing your sin before Him. This is an example of how God began restoring me. I prayed, “Lord I had many abortions. Each one was a child Lord. I admit my sin and I thank you for forgiving me of my sins. God, you said in I John 1:9 that if I confess my sins You are faithful and just to forgive me of all my sins and to cleanse me from all unrighteousness. By faith I receive the forgiveness for my abortions. In Jesus name. Amen.”

Leave a Reply

