My Pet Peeves About Beauty Shops

The going joke in my family is that I didn’t have any hair when I was born. I was the cute bald baby, who didn’t sprout hair until I was 4-5 years old. My mom says that my hair was so short and scarce that only my babysitter could grab the baby hairs and put my hair into a semi style.

As time went on, I got older and my hair grew and grew. My mom never put a perm in my hair and therefore when I got older, I didn’t either. My mom washed and pressed my hair from the time I was a young girl until I was in college. I got my hair done at the shop for special occasions but for the most part my mom pressed my hair. I was fine with sitting in my mom’s kitchen, next to the stove, talking with her and getting my hair done for free.

The times when I got my hair done at a shop, things NEVER seemed to work out. I got my first hair cut at 16 and it was uneven and my hair wasn’t pressed hard enough, so it was an afro by the evening. I got my first set of streaks when I turned 18, but they were too light, the color blended in with my hair and no one could see it.

As I got older and started making money after college, my mom encouraged me to find a beautician that I liked and could afford. The beauticians that I went to either cut my ends too much, didn’t streak/die my hair correctly, didn’t press my hair hard enough or had me waiting for hours to get a simple wash and press. I finally found a beautician that was affordable, close to my house and very friendly. My cousin recommended her to me. I have been going to her for at least 4 years now and she does a great job. She presses the mess out of my hair and she keeps it healthy and looking good. Even though I enjoy my beautician, I still have pet peeves about how things go down in the shop sometimes. I love my people and I’m not trying to be negative about black beauticians but some of them need to do better. Below is a list of beauty shop pet peeves that I’ve experienced or heard about over the years.

Things That Should Not Go Down In Any Shop

1. Loud vulgar music

2. Beauticians showing up late to work

3. Beauticians booking too many clients and making their clients wait all day.

4. Beauiticans moving slowly as if their clients have nothing better to do but to sit in the shop with them all day.

5. Beauiticans that let their clients use vulgar language and have inappropriate conversations.

6. Beauiticans that like to sit down and eat when they should be finishing up your hair

7. Beauticans that won’t return your calls promptly when your trying to schedule

8. Beauticans that are nosy and talk to much

9. Beauticians that cut too much of your ends and play dumb when you confront them about it

10. Beauticians that don’t keep the shop environment peaceful and professional

Black folk we have to do better! If you own a business you want it to be the best in town! You should be professional in your attire, language and shop environment. People should be lining up outside to get in because your reputation and craft are stellar. Don’t fall into the stereotype of many black on businesses (esp barber and beauty shops) where you are late to work, make your clients wait, your shop is a club scene and people are always talking about inappropriate topics (who is sleeping with who) Fight to be better. Customer service is everything!! Trust me, your business will increase when you professionalism does also!

**Ladies what have been some of your experiences with beauty shops? What would you like to see change about the way black beauticians do business***

3 Responses to “My Pet Peeves About Beauty Shops”

  1. Janelle Says:

    Oh lawdy, the topic for the weekend…& i think we can all relate. The biggest fear is when you move or go out of town; who will you find that can do your hair properly. You were fortunate, your mom could press my mom could not so I am skeptical of most beauticians. I think natural hairshould be celebrated more though! I am going to try going back to nature again maybe next year when I can find a stylist who really knows how to work with it and who I am comfortable with 🙂

  2. Karla Says:

    OMG I have those same complaints. Also here in LA most of them do not want to do your real hair. They want to put weaves on them with REMY hair or some sort of expensive hair. this one woman wanted to charge me 750 to do my weave, and 4 weave treatments. I was like is she FOR REAL

    Its almost like you have to be born into a family of good hair stylists. I am not going back to a Black Beautician EVER. I am fed up. This time i dont care if my hair looks like CRAZY i refuse to go to another Black Stylist. They are just WRONG. They get jealous when your hair grows out. The do show up late and have nerve to cop an attitude. I cannot deal with it. I have figured out online how to grow my hair and deal with my hair and so far its working good.

    Good luck to all of you. I suggest you look up online too find out about other women who have SAME issue. They are taking good care of their hair, it is growing LONG. Yes Black women we can grow our hair LONG and its the stylists, lowsy products, not enough vitamins, water. We must try to make our hair healthy. I am not begging them anymore. I aggree with you 100% I have those same issues. My grandma used to fix my hair for years and it was gorgeous. Now I am doing my best to make it look beautiful and grow out. Pray for me.


Leave a Reply

