Drop That ZERO! 10 Tips To Ending A Bad Relationship

Most of us have dated a guy or two that we discovered was not good for us. Some of us knew our ex’s were bad for us before we started dating them, but that’s a post for another day. When you care for someone deeply and you’re used to having their companionship,  it can be hard to end the relationship, even when you know it’s a must.


I dated a guy on and off for five years from high school to the beginning of college. He was my first love and I was head over heels in love and lust with him. As I grew up and matured in Christ, I began to see that the relationship wasn’t glorifying God and it needed to end. God wasn’t getting the glory and I wasn’t being treated the way I deserved and desired to be. It was a complete act of faith and obedience that helped me to walk away from that young man. I had wrapped so much of my existence in him over the years and the thought of not having his time, attention or company was scary. I knew he was hurting me and I knew I was hurting God. I was 20 years old when I knew enough was enough. I prayed, cried and talked to my mentor. With boldness and God’s strength, I ended ALL contact with my ex. No friendship, email, text messages NOTHING’. I’m a firm believer that ex’s can not be friends. If you have emotional and physical tied to someone, how can you be “just friends,” with them? It’s nearly impossible. Don’t kid yourself. If he treats you bad as your boyfriend, WHY would he treat you good as your friend?


Each day that went by, the Holy Ghost comforted me. I became stronger and my ex’s strong hold on my heart weakened. I stepped up my prayer time and surrounded myself with sold out Christian female friends. I knew God had someone for me who was sold out for Him, honest, open, kind, compassionate, hard-working, funny and FINE! I learned to embrace my singlehood and get to know myself better. I grew leaps and bounds in Christ also. I had to learn that it was okay not have a man to talk to each night or to tell me I was pretty. I had to get in the word and see myself how God saw me. I learned to love myself. Leaving that knucklehead was one of the best decisions I ever made!


If you are in a relationship that is not good for you, I want to encourage you to listen to that feeling on the inside of you that’s telling you to end the relationship. That’s the Holy Spirit tugging at your heart. If your being mistreated, cheated on, lied to, taken advantage of or verbally/physically/emotionally or sexually abused, you need to leave. I am not talking about married people getting a divorce, I’m speaking to single ladies that are dating horrible boyfriends. Don’t worry about being lonely, you can do bad all by yourself! You deserve better. Don’t settle, have standards and wait on a good man to come along when the time is right. 


10 Tips For Ending A Bad Relationship by Wendy Atterberry


1. Stop making excuses for his bad behavior.


2. Don’t waste more time defending your mistake.


3. Remember who you used to be.


4. Set new relationship standards.


5. Believe there is someone better out there.


6. Don’t expect to be happy immediately.


7. Distance yourself immediately.


8. Allow yourself to be lonely.


9. Remember why you ended the relationship.


10. Take care of yourself.


To read the entire article on how to end a bad relationship, go to http://www.thefrisky.com/post/246-10-tips-for-ending-a-bad-relationship/


If you enjoyed this blog post, I encourage you to subscribe to receive emails regarding future post. The subscribe button is located at the top left corner of the blog. Once you enter your email and hit “sign me up,” you will have to open your email and confirm the subscription. Thank you in advance for your support. Also please email the blog link to other ladies https://joannawillis.wordpress.com

4 Responses to “Drop That ZERO! 10 Tips To Ending A Bad Relationship”

  1. Amina Says:

    Another great post Joy!

  2. A Girl Getting Over Love Says:

    I needed to read this. My world seems to have fallen apart all around me, my life in a man….(so scary). Remembering who I was and allowing myself to be lonely are TRULY ringing in my ear. I need to remember myself and stop feeling like I need another man to sew up my heart. Good post.


Leave a Reply

