Confessions of A Technology Addict

In today’s society, technology rules the world. Majority of Americans have cell phones, computers, lab tops and other fancy devices. With Facebook, Twitter and many other social networking sites, we can remain in contact with one another. The ability to be in constant communication with the world can be a good and a bad thing.

Anyone who knows me knows that I LOVE my Blackberry. I use my phone for work, my writing projects and for leisure fun. My husband has a BB also and were both on them often, but I am on mine more than he is. Often when were watching a movie at home, he has to ask me to cut off my phone or give it to him because I continue to sneak peeks at it and send text messages. I am getting better at this because though it is not a big deal to me, I know it is a big deal to him.

My husband and I send each other instant messages throughout the day, just to say hi and keep each other in formed on whats going on with us. Technology is not a bad thing, everything just needs balance. I don’t talk to many people on the phone these days, only my 2 BFFs, my parents and grandma basically. Text messages are easy and quick but sometimes we need to make sure that we actually pick up the phone and check on each other. Lets try not to allow FB, text, instant messaging take the place of real interaction those that we love and care about.

We must make sure that we are not giving more attention to our phones, lab tops and other devices than to our loved ones. We must learn to set boundaries where at a certain time of day, we cut off the TV and put down the phones to talk or do activities as a family.

Cell phone challenge for all of us. I have been guilty of a few of these below and I am trying to do better. Lets try to put the following to practice to further develop our relationships with others.

1. Put your phone away during dinner time. Enjoy your meal and talk to your family about their day. Facebook can wait.

2. Don’t send text while people are talking to you. Even though text messages are quick, you don’t want to be in people’s faces texting while their talking.

3. Develop your friendships outside of Facebook and other social sites. 

4. Try not to be on your phone while your on a date or in the movies. You don’t want to annoy or neglect your date by being on your phone all night. If you do this, you may not get asked out on another date. If your married, your spouse may lose interest in going out with you frequently because you neglect them when your out.

5. Limit your phone time while your out with friends. You don’t want to be the lame person in the corner texting while at a party. Put the phone away and enjoy yourself.

Leave a Reply

