Take No Thought About Tomorrow

Today I was reading my bible before work and I was led to read Luke 12. The chapter speaks about not worrying about life’s issues and putting our trust in God. The entire chapter is powerful but I focused on verses 22-32. Holy Spirit was reminding me that it is easy to praise God, sing and dance around the sanctuary on Sundays but the real test of my faith comes during the week when work is stressful, my bank account is lower than I need it to be and life’s issues start hitting me left and right. As Christians we need to learn to truly trust in God. No matter what is going on, good, bad, pretty or ugly, God is good and faithful. He will never leave us or forsake us. When things get tight, lets not forget what we have been taught at church and read for ourselves in the word of God. During tough times, we are to remind ourselves of the countless things that He has done for us and remember that our current situation is no different. If God did it for you once, He WILL do it for you again!
I have been believing in God for a few things for a while now and sometimes it gets hard to remain patient. We live in a right now society, we want everything right away and we get upset if we have to wait. With God, things don’t work that way. Philippians 4:6 Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. After I pray, I have to give God praise and thanksgiving because I know He’s working it out.
Something else I was reminded of was on my worse day, I am better off than many other people. There is always someone doing worse than you. Sometimes we think, “if only I had this amount of money, car, job, food in the fridge, clothes in my closet.” You may not have the wardrobe that you want but you aren’t walking around naked or in rages! You may not have money for restaurant food or even the food that you have a taste for at the grocery store, but your cabinets and fridge are not completely empty. God is faithful and He reminded me to be grateful and content where I am at. When we show ourselves faithful over what He has blessed us with, He rewards us with more.
Lastly, remember that a seed will meet any need!! Whatever you’re in need of, take time and sow that. Sow money into someone who has less than you, give groceries to someone who has less food than you. If your lonely, go visit someone who does not get visitors often. Lets take the attention off of us and our needs and sow into the lives of others. God is faithful!! Psalm 37:25 I was young and now I am old, yet I have never seen the righteous forsaken or their children begging bread.
Luke 12:22-32
Do Not Worry

 22Then Jesus said to his disciples: “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat; or about your body, what you will wear. 23Life is more than food, and the body more than clothes. 24Consider the ravens: They do not sow or reap, they have no storeroom or barn; yet God feeds them. And how much more valuable you are than birds! 25Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life[a]? 26Since you cannot do this very little thing, why do you worry about the rest?

 27“Consider how the lilies grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you, not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 28If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today, and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, how much more will he clothe you, O you of little faith! 29And do not set your heart on what you will eat or drink; do not worry about it. 30For the pagan world runs after all such things, and your Father knows that you need them. 31But seek his kingdom, and these things will be given to you as well.

 32“Do not be afraid, little flock, for your Father has been pleased to give you the kingdom. 33Sell your possessions and give to the poor. Provide purses for yourselves that will not wear out, a treasure in heaven that will not be exhausted, where no thief comes near and no moth destroys. 34For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

If you enjoyed this blog post, I encourage you to subscribe to receive emails regarding future post. The subscribe button is located at the top left corner of the blog. Once you enter your email and hit “sign me up,” you will have to open your email and confirm the subscription. Thank you in advance for your support. Also please email the blog link to other ladies https://joannawillis.wordpress.com

8 Responses to “Take No Thought About Tomorrow”

  1. Tamiko Says:

    Joy, Thank you for allowing God to use you this morning. I hasve been going through SO MUCH lately. I have all but given up hope. I feel so overwhelmed at times, and I sit and ask God, do You really hear me, cant You see me, When is it going to change, God? And I know that He is taking care of me, that He has me in the palm of His hand. Im learning to trust God, in every circumstance, and in every situation. He is FAITHFUL, and I know He wont let me down. God Bless you Joy, and continue to be a vessel that God can use!!

    • joannawillis Says:

      Praise God ladies!! I’m honored to be used by Him! Im going to print this post out and mediate on the scriptures. I know I need God to do somethings for me and I want to be reminded that He’s faithful! He did it so many times before and He’ll do it again and again and again!!!

  2. Danielle Says:

    AWESOME, & on time!

  3. Danielle Says:

    Me too! It so easy to be caught up in the bad stuff and forget the tremendous amount of blessings. You are so right – our worst days don’t even compare to some.

  4. Janna Says:

    This is just wanted I needed to read. This has really made my day.

  5. Michelle Says:

    Sister, you are always speaking into my life. God has blessed me with your friendship. He knows what He is doing. In my current situation, I am always thinking about tomorrow and how I am going to support myself if things go south. These verses spoke directly to my heart. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

