What To Do When Life Throws You A Detour

Pastor Butler brought an awesome and encouraging word yesterday at Word of Faith Southfield. The message was right on time for me. The message was about the detours of life. Life happens and things change and sometimes we find ourselves off the right path whether it’s our own fault or not. Pastor was encouraging us that no matter what happens in life, we as believers need to continue to seek God, stay in faith, be of good cheer, walk in patience and love. There are things that I’ve been believing in God for that lately I’ve been feeling anxious about.  I know that being anxious and stressed is not of God. Also worrying doesn’t produce results, faith does! I’ve repented of my ways and I’m ready to start fresh.

I’m excited to start walking out this message. God knows my needs and desires. He knows the plan He has for me, plans to give me hope and a future. I don’t know more than God and therefore I will trust Him and follow His plan!! Amen! Be blessed today everyone!

Checkout my notes below. I pray they bless you as much as they did me. It’s a good reminder and very encouraging. I got excited just retyping the notes! If you want to purchase a cd, dvd or mp3 of the message go to http://woficc.com.

1. Take the time to hear from God.

*Seek His face.

2. Be Patient

*Cheerful endurance.

*Don’t give up. Keep doing and saying the right things.

*Don’t give God a deadline.

3. Have Faith in God

*Have faith no matter what.

*Only by faith do you get the victory.

*1 John 5:4 Faith is the victory that overcomes the world.

4. Be of Good Cheer

*Rejoice in the Lord always

*Believe He’ll work it out

*Cheer up, something good is going to happen.

*Wake up each morning saying “something good is going to happen to me today.” And if not today than tomorrow it will!

*God’s got a plan for your life and your family’s lives.

*Nothing can stop God. There are no limits on God.

*No matter the detour, God can make it right if you follow the plan.

*Remember that in the middle of your storm, God is with you!!

*God is with you and will provide favor to you.

5. Be a Blessing

*God wants to use you, wherever you are. (on your job, in your community, at your church, wherever)

6. Treat others right

*Walk in love

*Treat people how you want them to treat you.

*There is no excuse to mistreat people

7. Repent Where You’ve Missed It

*Repent means to turn away from

*God is faithful to forgive us

*Your still a son/daughter of God and God will show you mercy.

*Repent and do it the right way.

Scripture texts

Joel 2:25, Acts 9:15, Acts chapters 27 and 28, Luke 15:17-24

3 Responses to “What To Do When Life Throws You A Detour”

  1. Maxine Herron Says:

    Very good message. The Holy Spirit will show you things to come. We can be happy in the worst situation. God is going to work out our situation if we allow him. Have faith in God.

  2. Janna Says:

    This blog was right on time and I know my week with be filled with blessings. I have told many people that stress is not apart of God. You are certainly right, we have to have faith and never question God!

  3. joannawillis Says:

    Amen ladies!! I’m glad the notes from yesterday’s message were a blessing to you. God is good and in control! Let’s continue to seek Him and trust Him!


Leave a Reply

