Serving, Submitting and Sexing Oh My!

 Messages to the Wives 

1 Peter 3 speaks to wives and gives them detailed instructions on how to love their husbands and live lives that will bring them closer to Christ. My mom read verse 2 to me on my wedding nigh;on my wedding night. That verse alone is powerful. Read over these few verses and tell me what you think. Verse 9 talks about our attitude and tongue (help us Lord) I know that those are areas that I am working on. Lord, help me to be patience, calm and peaceful. Thank you for giving me everything I need to be a great wife! In Jesus name, Amen! 

1 Peter 3:1-12 (AMP) 

IN LIKE manner, you married women, be submissive to your own husbands [subordinate yourselves as being secondary to and dependent on them, and adapt yourselves to them], so that even if any do not obey the Word [of God], they may be won over not by discussion but by the [godly] lives of their wives,
 

  • This scripture is deep. What I hear it saying is that we are to win our husbands by our lifestyle, not our nagging or constantly lecturing. Instead of continuing to tell them what they need to be doing, we are to live lives in front of them that bring glory to God. Our lifestyles, attitudes and conversation can win our husbands over if they bring glory to God.
     

   2When they observe the pure and modest way in which you conduct yourselves, together with your [a] reverence [for your husband; you are to feel for him all that reverence includes: to respect, defer to, revere him–to honor, esteem, appreciate, prize, and, in the human sense, to adore him, that is, to admire, praise, be devoted to, deeply love, and enjoy your husband].
 

  • I need to put this verse up on my bathroom mirror! This is the type of wife that I strive to be! I want to always honor, esteem, appreciate, prize, adore, admire, praise and devote myself only to my husband. I WILL NOT allow another women to praise, encourage or adore my husband more than me. I will respect and honor him always, even when he is acting up, because that is what the word of God tells me to do.

    3Let not yours be the [merely] external adorning with [elaborate] [b] interweaving and knotting of the hair, the wearing of jewelry, or changes of clothes;
 

    4But let it be the inward adorning and beauty of the hidden person of the heart, with the incorruptible and unfading charm of a gentle and peaceful spirit, which [is not anxious or wrought up, but] is very precious in the sight of God.
 

  • What I hear verses 3-4 saying is that it is more important for us as wives to be beautiful on the inside and filled with the things of God verses only beautiful on the outside. We need to be the women and wives that God has called us to be NO MATTER whats going on around us or how others are acting.

 5For it was thus that the pious women of old who hoped in God were [accustomed] to beautify themselves and were submissive to their husbands [adapting themselves to them as themselves secondary and dependent upon them]. 

I know that being submissive and dependent on our husbands is not always easy but it is important and the bible commands us to. When you have a husband that has the Holy Spirit on the inside of him, it is easier to follow him because you know he won’t purposefully lead you in the wrong direction. Plus we can go in our prayer closets and ask the Holy Spirit to speak to our husbands when we think their going in the wrong direction or making bad choices. The word dependent to me means allowing my husband to take care of me and not always having to be independent and do everything myself. My husband loves to open the door for me, take the trash out, keep gas in the car and fix things for me. Apart of me being dependent on him is allowing him to do those things and not insisting that I don’t need his help and I can do them all myself. 

    6It was thus that Sarah obeyed Abraham [following his guidance and acknowledging his headship over her by] calling him lord (master, leader, authority). And you are now her true daughters if you do right and let nothing terrify you [not giving way to hysterical fears or letting anxieties unnerve you]. 

I respect my husbands opinion and he respects mine. We talk through things together but I respect his authority over me and in the end the final decision is his because he is the head of our house. We comprise often but if a tough decision needs to be made, we pray and whatever he hears the Lord telling him, that is what we do. 

    7In the same way you married men should live considerately with [your wives], with an [c]intelligent recognition [of the marriage relation], honoring the woman as [physically] the weaker, but [realizing that you] are joint heirs of the grace (God’s unmerited favor) of life, in order that your prayers may not be hindered and cut off. [Otherwise you cannot pray effectively.]

    8Finally, all [of you] should be of one and the same mind (united in spirit), sympathizing [with one another], loving [each other] as brethren [of one household], compassionate and courteous (tenderhearted and humble).
    9Never return evil for evil or insult for insult (scolding, tongue-lashing, berating), but on the contrary blessing [praying for their welfare, happiness, and protection, and truly pitying and loving them]. For know that to this you have been called, that you may yourselves inherit a blessing [from God–that you may obtain a blessing as heirs, bringing welfare and happiness and protection].

  • This is another great verse to put on the mirror! It’s important when having “intense fellowship” that we aren’t to return insult for insult. Someone has to be mature enough to end the conversation and walk away until everyone is cool enough to finish the discussion calmly. When things are that intense, it may be a good idea to table the discussion until later anyway. Why make a difficult situation worse by arguing and hurting each other’s feelings? We end heated discussions often because often times those discussion aren’t productive. By ending the discussion we are able to keep a tight rein on our tongues and we don’t give ourselves opportunity to hurt the other person. We come back to the conversation later and talk it out.

    10For let him who wants to enjoy life and see good days [good–whether apparent or not] keep his tongue free from evil and his lips from guile (treachery, deceit).

  • Let us always be honest with our spouses and never be deceitful or sneaky. There is nothing worse then a lying man. We all want honesty so we must be honest. Give Satan no place!

    11Let him turn away from wickedness and shun it, and let him do right. Let him search for peace (harmony; undisturbedness from fears, agitating passions, and moral conflicts) and seek it eagerly. [Do not merely desire peaceful relations with God, with your fellowmen, and with yourself, but pursue, go after them!]
    12For the eyes of the Lord are upon the righteous (those who are upright and in right standing with God), and His ears are attentive to their prayer. But the face of the Lord is against those who practice evil [to oppose them, to frustrate, and defeat them].(A)

One Response to “Serving, Submitting and Sexing Oh My!”


Leave a Reply

