The Biggest Winner: What’s Your Fit Plan?

Last night, I went to bed at 8:00pm. Anyone who knows me knows that I (and my husband) are night owls and we usually don’t go to bed before midnight each night. Last night, we were both very tired and I was glad that we were able to obtain some much needed rest. My body woke me up this morning shortly before 7am and I decided to get out of bed and excercise. I have been carrying extra duties on my job since the middle of February and I have not been diligent in my workouts since March. Before I could think up a reason to not excercise, I jumped out of bed and started getting dressed, boy am I so glad I did!!

I had an awesome 30 min workout on my elliptical machine. I was jammin to my praise music and gospel rap. Even though I had not worked out consistently for a few weeks, I still hit it hard and did better than the goal I set for myself. Thank you Jesus! When I finished working out, the Holy Spirit bought 1 Cor 6:20 to my remembrance. Read both versions of the verse below:

1 Cor 6:20 (KJV)

For ye are bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body, and in your spirit, which are God’s.

1 Cor 6:20 (AMP)

You were bought with a price [purchased with a preciousness and paid for, made His own]. So then, honor God and bring glory to Him in your body.

Holy Spirit was gently reminding me that working out is about being healthy, getting slimmer BUT most importantly about glorifying Him in my body. My body is the temple of the Holy Ghost. I don’t want to treat my body badly by eating junk and not exercising. As believers we often pray for God to heal our bodies and undo the horrible things that we have done towards our temples, when all we have to do is be more responsible in keeping our bodies clean (those that may need to stop smoking, drinking, eating fast food several times a week), physically fit and properly cared for.

I want to bring God glory in my lifestyle (my speak, actions, media that I watch/listen to, friends that I keep, thoughts that I think AND the food that I eat) It’s not God’s will for His children to have to take multiple prescription medications a day, always going back and forth to doctors and staying in bed sick a few weeks a year. He needs us healthy so that we can take the gospel and share it with those around us in words and our lifestyle. Your coworker may not want to receive Christ from you if your always complaining about your health and not glorifying God in your body and actions. We need to be healthy as believers not only for ourselves but for ministry sake and those around us.

I remember when my pastor, Bishop Butler, told the congregation one Sunday a few years ago that he lost weight so that he could effectively travel around the world and minister the gospel. He explained that if he was not in good physical condition, he would not be able to successfully travel the world and bring people closer to Christ, which is his calling and purpose on the earth. I understand and I agree completely with what he was saying.

Now that I have acknowledged that I haven’t been glorifying God in my body, the HG has brought the word to my remembrance, what’s my plan from here on out?

  1. I will write out a healthy eating/fitness confession that I can recite everyday.
  2. I will ask God to help me change the way I see food and eating.
  3. I will work out daily whether on my elliptical machine, DVR , Wii Fit or walk around our complex. 
  4. I will decrease my sugar intake and avoid fast food.

Now that I have my fit plan written down and the scripture that I’m standing on, whats your plan? How can you glorify God in your body and spirit which are God’s? What areas can you step it up at? If you don’t know, seek God and He will tell you. If you do know, don’t beat yourself up about your short comings, simply ask God to give you the determination and diligence needed to meet your goals. God needs His people in good health (physically, spiritually, financially and mentally) so that we can impact the world for Him!  LET’S GO!!!!

9 Responses to “The Biggest Winner: What’s Your Fit Plan?”

  1. Monica Says:

    Joy!!! Another great post. I was just sitting at my desk thinking that I have to get back on track with a few things (including working out). I was trying to think of the best ways to remain consistant and set my self up for victory! And then I log on to read your latest blog entry! CONFIRMATION girly!!!
    I love you!
    Keep up the good work
    -Moe

    • joannawillis Says:

      Wow Monica that’s awesome! I’m so glad I wrote it and confirmed some things for you. We all can do better in this area and we will!! God is good! We can do ALL things through Christ who strengthens us!!

  2. Delonna Stinson Says:

    This is another great post. I have been trying to eat healthy since January. We have given up
    pop completely. We don’t even buy junk food anymore. A few weeks ago I got discouraged because I could not see a difference in my weight but my husband saw a difference and a few other people could tell. So we gave made an effort to walk and workout together .
    Thanks for the encouragement with this blog .

    • joannawillis Says:

      Hey Delonna! Thanks for the comment! Sometimes it is easy to get discouraged because we change our eating habits and workout and the process seems to take forever before the results are seem. What we must remember is even though the scale is taking a while to move, maybe we lost a few inches and/or improved our health internally (blood pressure, cholesterol etc) by eating better and working out. Whether we see it right away or not, we are doing our bodies good. I know you have been working hard and I’m sure it felt good to hear your hubby acknowledge your efforts! We’ve cut out pop too for a while now so thats a big accomplishement! Love you cousin!

  3. Ronda P. Says:

    Awesome post as usual. God dealt with me on this last year and I’ve been cracking down on some things and exercising at least 4 days a week for a minimum of an 1.5 hrs doing cardio and strength training and feels awesome. My biggest issue is drinking water consistantly this is where I need the most help and God has been dealing with on that. I have a goal to drop at least another dress size before my birthday, with Gods help and plenty of discipline I can make it. God bless you on your journey.

  4. Erayna Says:

    This is a great blog Joanna! Very inspiring and so true! Thank you for this and continue to let God use you!

    • joannawillis Says:

      Great job Ronda! 1 hr and a half of cardio a day! I wanna be like you!! God bless you on your journey as well.

      Thanks Erayna for the encouragement and support! You’ve been such a blessing to me!

  5. Janna Thomas Says:

    I’m happy to say that I have lost 20 pounds this year and feel so much better. Everything that you wrote is so true and I pray that others will be inspired by your writings to set goals and achieved them.

    • joannawillis Says:

      Wow 20 pounds!! Go head Janna!! Your my hero! 🙂 Thanks for the encouraging words! I pray the post inspires people to be healthy and achieve their goals too!


Leave a Reply

