A Good Man Aint Hard To Find Part 2: Lady In Waiting

A good friend suggested that I write about what the holy, content and productive single saint can do to stay strong and not get weary while they wait on their mate. Holy Spirit brought a particular book to my remembrance regarding this topic; Enjoying Where You Are On The Way To Where You Are Going by Joyce Meyer. The book is awesome, encouraging and full of helpful scriptures and wisdom nuggets. Chapter 11 is titled Joy In God’s Waiting Room. I will reference that chapter throughout this post.

There are a lot of saints that are handling business and holding it down during their season of singlehood. They are walking in their purpose, paying their tithes, serving at their churches, remaining holy and trusting in God. Even when we as believers do the things that we know to do, we still have moments of weariness, when we wonder, even if only for a second, when our time of waiting will be over; whether were waiting on a mate, job, baby, house, car, promotion etc. I want to share a few excerpts from Joyce Meyers book and then share a few of my thoughts.

Waiting! Waiting! Waiting!

It sometimes seems to us that we have waited forever. We grow weary and don’t feel that we can hang on much longer, and then, something happens- maybe just a little something. Perhaps it’s a special word from God that someone gives you, or perhaps you are touched by God in a specific way. Perhaps a gift comes- something for which you have been believing- that only God knew about, and it encourages you that the Lord knows that you are alive and waiting. pg. 173

God is closely watching over the lives of His children, and He will never allow more to come on us than we can bear. (1 Cor. 10:13) God provides the way out of every situation in due time. In the meantime, He will give us what we need to be stable and joyful if we will trust Him for it, realizing that He knows best. pg. 174

When blessings come our way or we receive answers to prayer, it reminds us that God hasn’t forgotten about us. This stirs up our joy and our faith. I had to take a statics class my last semester for my undergraduate degree. I was single and honestly not loving it. I was trying my best to NOT do the “why me Lord, when’s it my turn,” song and dance. My stats class was kicking my butt BUT I continued to be diligent in my studies as well as my prayer time, confessions and scriptures. I had to seriously stand in faith, trust God and NOT look at the situation in the natural. In the end I pasted my class and it was a big victory for me! I gave God all the glory! My faith went to a new level. I was reminded that God was by my side and He was hearing my prayers. 

Let Nature Take Its Course

When we go into the waiting room to wait for any appointment, we are offered a seat. If we choose to, we can pace around, wringing our hands, checking every few seconds to see if the person we want to meet is ready for us. But there is another choice. We can have a seat and do something to make the wait enjoyable. pg. 177

My advice to you from the Word of God and from my experience in life is “Don’t be in such a big hurry.” You may be “pregnant” with dreams for your life, but you may also be trying to have your “baby” out of season. We can make huge messes in our lives, and sometimes get upset with God because things didn’t work out the way we thought the Lord said they would. Things will happen as God said if we wait on His timing. We are the ones in a hurry. God is not in a hurry!

 Around the same time of my stats class, a Christian gentleman started showing me attention. I had decided on my own that it was my season of dating. Boy was I terribly wrong. The guy and I emailed each other several times a day, asking each other questions and getting to know one another. I thought I was ready to date because I had stopped partying and started going to church, living holy and focusing on graduating. I was in such a hurry to start dating, that I was trying to make a romance happen because he was handsome, we were both saved and he was paying me attention. Needless to say the guy was not my MOG (man of God). He was nice guy but I was out of season. I was honestly heart-broken for a while because I allowed myself to get so excited at the idea of us dating. I didn’t guard my heart and I couldn’t understand why God wasn’t bringing a man my way. I was being obedient and doing all the things I thought He was asking me to do. I was in a hurry and I hadn’t even noticed it. I shouldn’t have been mad with God, only myself. It was a hard lesson to learn but I’m glad I went through it.

Learn to Wait Well

All the things we should be doing while we are waiting are the exact reason why we must wait. I encourage you to think about the statement: All the wrong things we do while we are waiting- things like giving birth to “Ishmaels,” having bad attitudes, being jealous of others who already have what we are waiting on, attending “pity parties,” on a regular basis, being on an emotional roller coaster- all these things and more are exactly why we have to wait. They must be dealt with- worked out of us. The simple fact is that preparation is a process requiring time.

Even when we are more mature and ready for some of God’s best, we may be waiting for God to deal with the other people who will be involved with us. There is mutlifaceted work that God is doing- an intricate work- and we are better off to leave it alone and let God be God. pg. 179

Sometimes as believers, we compare ourselves to others who have gotten blessed before us. I’ve wrongly questioned God before, asking Him WHY somebody got the things I had been praying for before me. I was a sold out for Christ single person for three years before Eddie and I started dating. Majority of that time I was okay with waiting. At first I knew that I wasn’t ready to date and I told God that I didn’t want any man to come in between the relationship that he and I had established. BUT once time went on and I felt that I was ready, there were times were I felt weary. I thank God for my Christian friends and the Word of God that my church was preaching/teaching. I was always able to quickly renew my mind and get back on course. A church home where you are growing in the Lord and friends to encourage and correct you are key components to any Christian person’s success.

Hurrying Steals Joy

Too often we are either overcommitment or under committed. What we really need is balanced commitments. God is not impressed with our excessive activity, even when it is done in His name. Remember that peace leads to joy. If Satan can steal our peace, then he will also get our joy. pg. 185

If you are in God’s waiting room, which I am sure you are if you are like the rest of us, have a seat. Enjoy the wait! Don’t be in such a hurry. It will only make you miserable, not anyone else. God has provided for you to have an enjoyable wait. Relax and enter in to His joy. pg. 186

My message to the single and loving it saint

While you wait on your MOG or WOG, continue to live life to the fullest. Continue to pray, fast, praise and give thanks. Continue to cry out to God during times of loneliness and draw nigh to Him so that your strength can be renewed. Continue to be confident in what you’re working with (naturally, spiritually and physically) Get a prayer partner/accountability partner (of the same-sex) who you can share your hopes, dreams and fears with so that they know how to pray and encourage you. Lastly, know that God sees you and He’s proud of the son/daughter that you have become. He has not forgotten you. He has awesome things in store! Your best is yet to come!  

Psalms 37:4 Delight yourself also in the Lord, and He will give you the desires and secret petitions of your heart. pg. 178

James 5:7-8 (Amplified) So be patient, brethren, [as you wait] till the coming of the Lord. See how the farmer waits expectantly for the precious harvest from the land. [See how] he keeps up his patient [vigil] over it until it receives the early and late rains. So you also must be patient. Establish your hearts [strengthen and confirm them in the final certainty], for the coming of the Lord is very near.

Isaiah 40:31 But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.

Also mediate on John 10:10, 15:11 and 16:24.

7 Responses to “A Good Man Aint Hard To Find Part 2: Lady In Waiting”

  1. Kim Brooks Says:

    Good stuff Joanna! Excellent read, and great words of wisdom and encouragement!

  2. Maxine Herron Says:

    Great words of encouragement. The blog is excellent.

  3. NAS Says:

    Was soooo needed for a time such as THIS! Thank you so much for the rememberance and encouragement.

  4. joannawillis Says:

    Thanks Maxine and Nas! Im glad you two found this post to be encouraging. May God continue to get the glory in everything that I write.

  5. Faith Says:

    Excellent blog Joy there is so many good points in it! I’m seriously going to print this out and re-read it!

  6. Lauren Says:

    This is an excellent post for anybody who’s waiting for anything…which I’m pretty sure is all of us! 🙂


Leave a Reply

