Dear Mama: Support For The Single Mother

Today I woke up with single parents on my heart. I have family members that are single mothers and I see the difficulties they sometimes face with raising their children on their own. As a social worker, I work with single parent families on a daily basis. I see first hand what struggles parents (majority young single mothers) face to raise their children, work multiple jobs, help with homework, keep the house clean, food in the fridge and provide a safe but inexpensive environment for the family to live in. It takes a strong woman to take care of her family alone. Those single mothers that are believers have Holy Ghost on the inside of them, leading, guiding and providing for them. We’d all be lost without Holy Spirit.

It is not God’s will for families to only have one parent in the home but life happens, people make decisions and sometimes people’s partners make decisions for them. The world has gotten away from godly principles and has taken prayer out of everything. No wonder the world is upside down when it comes to morals and values. I want to educate you on this rising epidemic of single parenthood. Then I want to encourage the single mothers that are reading this post as they continue to trust God and be the best mothers that they can be. I have much love and respect for any woman who despite their circumstance, gives their child the gift of child life and works hard to provide, love, care, support, teach, discipline and raise that child in the things of the Lord. God bless you mothers!!

Here are some stats from the website Project Single Moms from 2003

The number of single-mother families increased from three million in 1970 to 10 million in 2003, while the number of single-father families grew from less than 500,000 to 2 million.  Of the 10 million single mothers, over 3.1 million are Black single mothers.

 Why so many single mothers?  The rise in single-parent households developed, the study claims, for three main reasons – a larger proportion of births occurring in unmarried women in the 1990s than in the 1960s and 1970s, the rise in divorce among couples with children as well as the increase in Black and Latina men leaving their families due to incarceration.

 The U.S. Census Bureau released these statistics about Black Single Mothers in America based on data collected in a 2002 study:

Ø        Approximately 1,169,000 black single mothers – or 37 percent – had graduated from high school only, compared to 2,235,000 or 35 percent – of white single mothers.

Ø        The number of black single mothers with a bachelor’s degree or higher, 315,000, was significantly lower than that of white single mothers with comparable education, 904,000.

Ø        Twenty percent of black single mothers in the study had been divorced, but 62 percent had never been married – suggesting that black single mothers – more than any ethnic group – were most likely to have never been married.

Ø        Nearly one-third of all single mothers – 32 percent – live below the poverty line.  However, the condition is more acute for black single mothers; 38 percent, or 1.2 million of 3.1 million black single mothers raise families below the poverty line

 http://www.projectsinglemoms.com/singlemomsinamerica/statistics.html

 Custodial Mothers and Fathers and Their Child Support: 2007

 An estimated 13.7 million parents had custody of 21.8 million children under 21 years of age while the other parent lived somewhere else.

  • More than one-quarter (26.3 percent) of all children under 21 years of age lived with one of their parents, while the other parent lived outside the household.
  • One-quarter (24.6 percent) of all custodial parents had incomes below poverty, while 18.2 percent of those who received at least some child support payments were below poverty.
  • About 62.7 percent of the $34.1 billion in child support due was reported as received, averaging $3,350 per custodial parent who was due support.
  • About three-quarters (76.3 percent) of custodial parents due support received at least some payments in 2007, which included 46.8 percent who received the full amount and 29.5 percent who received a portion of the total due.
  • Child support represented 47.9 percent of the average income for custodial parents below poverty who received full support.

  Over half (57.6 percent) of custodial parents received some type of  noncash support from noncustodial parents on behalf of their children.

  • Over one-quarter (27.3 percent) of custodial parents contacted a government office for issues related to collecting child support.

 http://singleparents.about.com/gi/o.htm?zi=1/XJ&zTi=1&sdn=singleparents&cdn=parenting&tm=19&gps=344_311_1020_567&f=00&su=p997.1.168.ip_p284.9.336.ip_p504.3.336.ip_&tt=11&bt=1&bts=1&st=24&zu=http%3A//www.census.gov/prod/2009pubs/p60-237.pdf

 Now that we know the facts, we know how to pray. The single parent homes need our prayers. Pray for salvation, strength, wisdom, peace, support, godly counsel, resources and increase in income for the parents. Pray for peace, comfort, obedience, a helpful spirit and all needs being met for the children. We need to support those around us who are struggling. Offer to babysit, take groceries over, invite them to church, give the family rides sometimes when their transportation is down, give hugs, encouraging words, send up a prayer. Whatever you are being led by the spirit to do. We are not put on this earth for ourselves but to glorify God and be a blessing to others.

 A Single Mom Prays For Financial Help

 Precious Lord, I’m on my knees, asking for your help. There are more bills coming in then money. I feel like I’m sinking in a pit and I can’t get out. I’m caught in a endless cycle, living paycheck to paycheck. My head is going under Lord. I’m drowning in my debt.

 Rescue me! Hear my cries! You are my source, Lord, not my pay check. You are my provider. You own the whole earth, and every good thing I have has come from your hand.

 I lay it all down, Lord. I give it all to you; my rent, utilities, car payment, insurance, food, clothing, daycare, everything. Teach me how to handle my finances wisely so that I can bring glory to you and set a godly example for my children. Forgive me, Lord, for the times I’ve been wasteful and ungrateful with the money you have given me. Speak to the father of my children about the support that he should be providing. Convict his heart without me having to wrestle him into court.

Thank you, Lord, that you will meet all of my needs. I know that you have heard my prayer, and before I’ve even finished speaking your hand is already at work. I will rest in that knowledge. I pray through Jesus Christ who has provided for me, amen.

 Phil 4:19 But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.

Hebrews 13:5 Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.

Proverbs 3:5-6 Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy path.

Leave a Reply

