Spousal Support

While at the Anointed Pen Seminar last weekend, I learned many things. One of the speakers boldly informed the women in the room that they needed to make sure their husbands were supportive of their book projects and that they were on one accord as a marriage union. She explained that if there was division and confusion in the home, the project would not be successful. She encouraged the women who were not in right fellowship with their husbands to put their project on hold, go home and get things right in their marriage. She explained that each married person needs the support and prayers of their spouse. Some in the room probably didn’t agree but there were a few amens.

I completely agree with my sister in the Lord. It’s so important for husbands and wives to support each other in all things. My husband was up late last night helping me with my blog. He has supported my vision for the book from the start. When God placed the book on my heart a few years ago, Eddie and I were only friends. He showed an interest in my project and advised me willingly when I sought him out. He prayed for me and the baby (my book) that God had placed on the inside of me.

One of my testimonies that I will share in my book is restoration from sexual assault. The assault took place in 2000 while I was away at college. I was very nervous to share this with Eddie, even though I had been through counseling and the assault had taken place at least five years ago. I was restored from the pain and fear of the past but I had never shared my testimony with any males besides the ones in my family. I had a crush on Eddie and didn’t want him to eliminate the idea of us one day being a couple; even though we were only friends at the time. Eddie immediately shared his love, encouragement and support for me. He was a true brother in the Lord, for that I am forever grateful. I will never forget that conversation.

Our friendship grew into romance. By the time we were married, three years had gone by. We developed an awesome friendship and understanding of one another during that time. When you don’t have sex with your spouse before marriage, you have nothing but time to talk and get to know one another, but that’s another topic for another day.

Eddie never stopped encouraging, supporting and challenging me in all of my endeavors. We are each other’s main cheerleaders. Spouses are supposed to work together and help each other to fulfill their purpose. How could I write a book to help others get free and my own house is in bondage? God has a purpose and a plan for each person on the earth. It’s up to us to marry people who support our vision and where God is planing to take us in life. We arent put on this earth to please ourselves. Were on this earth to be a blessing to others and to bring them closer to Christ. What an awesome testimony it will be to have my husband at my book release party, singing of course (he is an AWESOME singer) serving and sitting next to me while I sign books. Where ever life takes us, were going to experience the adventure together.

Message to singles

If you are single, please make sure you pray for your spouse before they are even revealed to you. When you start dating someone, have fun BUT make sure you talk about the important stuff and see if your visions line up with one another’s. Why waste time dating someone who doesn’t have the same desires as you in life? Save yourself the time, drama and pain. God is faithful. He has someone out there who will love, support, pray and willingly give of their time, money and energy to see all of your dreams/visions come to pass. My spouse is my exceedingly above all that I can ask or think that the bible speaks of. God knew what I needed and wanted and because of my obedience, He blessed me with that and more.

Ephesians 3:20

Now unto him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us.

4 Responses to “Spousal Support”

  1. L-Boog Says:

    awwww I love it! you and Eddie are such an encouragement to us single folks just by your lifestyle. I can tell that you guys not only love each other and are truly in love, but that you are FRIENDS! that’s just great to me! 🙂

  2. joannawillis Says:

    Hey Lauren!! Thanks so much for your comment and words of encouragement!! To God be the glory! Dont be a stranger to my blog, subscribe to receive email updates on future post. Luv ya lady!

  3. Rolisia Says:

    That is an awesome point, especially as a wife no matter what the calling God has on your life it is so important that your spouse is in agreement. I truly believe that God is not going to give you a vision that is going to destroy your marriage. But as you noted it is important to be in agreement and not to be anxious for anything….even if a spouse is intially not on board…pray and pray even harder….that does not have to be the finally decision….God will move on your spouses heart. This was well written…Go head Sis.

  4. joannawillis Says:

    Thanks so much for visiting my site and posting a comment. I appreciate your support. Thanks for the wisdom that you posted. Its a blessing to know so many awesome godly couples. We keep each other lifted up and accountable. Love you sis!!


Leave a Reply

